See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 77% from 12 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel. Only concern was how the room got too hot, at least on the fourth floor. One of the windows did not open. They were considerate enough to bring in an electric fan in the room, but it was not enough to cool down the whole room. Maybe having two would've been great.
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • My top grade,one of the finest enjoyable staffed hostels I have had any chance to stay at. The property is kept clean and tidy and the nice new couches are so good as is the new hardly a squeak in them nicely made beds! Always a nice time,... just say hello and everyone is pleased to help, or to be friendly (can always make a new friend here) . Food (groceries) and drink (downstairs) or steps away in world famous gas town where its always buzzing. I would stay again. The Best.
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2016 Doug Canada
  • Wifi was weak and kept cutting out. Pub crawl was very under-whelming. Our guide said we'd go to 4-5 pubs, we went to 2, and then he left us. I asked front desk for suggestions of things to do, and it was like pulling teeth to get ideas of sites to see. It also wasn't very clear on this site that I'd be charged an additional 10% since I wasn't an HI member. Also, my dryer didn't really work to dry my clothes after washing them, and the front desk shrugged and offered no help. Not worth price.
  • 51%
  • 27 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Had a blast at this place! Not to far of a walk to the main stuff downtown. About a 20 min walk to BC place.
  • 89%
  • 07 Nov 2015 PEDRO
  • Very friendly staff, small but good breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms, possibility to rent bikes, 2 Minutes to Davie Street with busstop, a lot of Shops and Restaurants
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Nice place :)
  • 83%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Oscar Mexico
  • Very bad air and hot in the rooms. The bathrooms are not cleaned.
  • 40%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Sabrina Italy
  • There was somebody sleeping in my bed when I arrived. Servicies were terrible. They hadn't told me that the room has been changed. Which in result, I lost my slippers that I had put in my room
  • 20%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Jaehyo South Korea
  • It was great here. The only reason I did not give the staff the highest rating was "Kath" (that's all I could see of her name tag, there was some other lanyard covering part of it). It was Tuesday afternoon around 2:00 pm. there was no one at the counter or in the lobby so she was not busy. I asked her if she could help me with my wifi connection and she acted pretty rude about it like why should I do this. Meredith was awesome!!! In general this place was great! Clean, quiet, great loc
  • 97%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Jan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »