See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 86% from 36 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were very helpful and had answers to all our questions. The luggage storage room was well secured and enabled us to travel light across to Vancouver Island for four nights. Davey Street was very convenient and the food from the large grocery store could be heated up in the kitchen for dinner giving you a cheap dinner.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Maralyn Australia
  • This is a great place to stay on a budget in Vancouver. It is located in the West End, close to restaurants, supermarkets and nightlife, but the hostel itself is located in a very quiet, leafy and safe street. English Bay Beach is just a stroll away (< 10 min). I stayed in a private room w/ shared bathroom, very simple furniture but clean, with a bunk bed, desk and private sink. Shared toilet was spotless, with good hot shower. Staff was friendly, free breakfast was ok, free wifi generally good.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • One of the best hostel I stayed in Vancouver.
  • 74%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • One of the best hostels I stayed in Vancouver.
  • 74%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Excellent place, super helpful friendly staff. Generous breakfast. In a nice quiet location but close to downtown and the sea. The only drawback was the air circulation. But hey it is an old building?
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Appreciate the breakfast before check-in, water filter is nice feature. Clean, good location and facilities, friendly reception staff. Would stay again.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Excellent hostel and great facilities. Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed at!
  • 97%
  • 17 May 2014 Lisa
  • Very good location hostel with nice staff. You get a clear bed, but the place is worn out and I think that shows particularly in the toilets that could need an upgrade.
  • 71%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • A pleasant Vancouver stay in the Davis street area which was highlighted by the friendly folk of the hostel, safe area, and close to grocery stores two blocks west on Davis for the best food and restaurants. An exciting Granville are nightlife made most evenings fun and relaxed. Do not forget Granville Island markets and commercial drive hip stores for great shopping in this world class post Olympic city.
  • 86%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Doug Canada
  • I enjoyed my stay but I noticed on my way to the hostel there's another HI closer to downtown - this one is located in a rather peaceful/nice neighborhood and very close to English Bay.
  • 91%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »