See other Playa del Carmen properties

Hacienda del Sol

Calle 2 Nte Mz 228 LT 6 Y 7, Entre Av 120 Y 125 Nte, Col Ejido, Playa del Carmen, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 3.8km

Rating: 89% from 15 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • charming place and staff, we had a great time ! highly recommend
  • 97%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Manuela the owner/manager was amazing, a very helpful and genuine lady. She went out of her way to show us local restaurants for every occasion and was happy to hang out with us at night. The hostel is well kept and the pool and outdoor area was a great place to socialise and relax. Amazingly priced for clean dorms and bathrooms. Free washing and use of kitchen and bikes! Definitely recommend visiting Playa del Carmen and staying here!!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Excellent facilities, run by lovely people. Not much else to say. One of the best places to stay in Playa.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Ivan Canada
  • Great personnel, the lady that runs the place is just very kind and cool. It is a nice place to know interesting people from many different countries. I would definitely come back. I highly recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Rodrigo Mexico
  • Manuela is a very nice Housekeeper and helps a lot with everything =) The area is very cheap for going out for eating real mexican food, which is very nice because of the high prices at the beach. U can grab a taxi easily which brings you to the beach for 30 pesos. Nice Cenote in 15 minutes with bikes. free bikes and snorkeling. Also the pool is clean and refreshing. You can buy big beers, 40 oz very cheap in the hostal. The whole stay was really nice=)
  • 83%
  • 15 Dec 2013 David Germany
  • Loved it!
  • 91%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Jordan USA
  • I have been traveling and working for 7 years all around the world and this Hostel is like no other i've been in. Most Hostels i've been in have been croweded and dirty. This felt like I was a guest in an amazing house with a big screan tv and amazing pool. Plus getting things for free that you NEVER get in a Hostel like free bikes and washing machine. I only booked 4 days but had to stay longer, If I didnt have to go i'd still be there.
  • 97%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Mat New Zealand
  • Manuela, the manager at the moment(October 2013) is NOT a Latino , as the name may indicate. Good Points : Large building in good condition, a swimming pool, large backyard for resting, good internet wi-fi service,TV viewing room, availabiliity of computer if travelling without a portable computer, local restaurants in the vicinity as well as a secure ATM machine . Not pleasant features : Distance of 5-10 minutes away from town centre by car or bus, heavy use of bathroom by more than 6 peopl
  • 74%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed at, the double room was huge and very clean. The outside area with bar and pool was superb and a great place to meet people. The location is out of town a bit so ideal for us as all local bars, restaurants were really cheap and just a short cycle ride or bus into centre (we walked it a few times). Manuela (the host) was incredibly helpful in anything we wanted to do, going out of her way to ensure we had a good time. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2013 richard England
  • There is this Hostel called: “Hacienda del Sol”. Do not miss the unique experience of staying in this serene and tranquil “Home away from Home Hostel”. Beautiful pool for swimming on hot days and surrounded by swaying palms, lush greenery is perfect to purge away the concerns of everyday life. Experience the transformation savoring the true ecstasy of this new adventure in travel. Excellent cleanliness, cheap price, secure lockers, wifi,, and weekly barbecues. I give this hostel a 100% rating!
  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »