See other Hangzhou properties

Hangzhou Hofang International Youth Hostel

No.67 DaJing Lane, Hangzhou, China, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 84% from 11 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The place was incredibly clean and we loved the night market just a 5 minute walk away. Really great deal and I'd go back in a second. Also, the hot chocolate at the cafe in the hostel is amazing.
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Laura USA
  • The dorm had no access to fresh air. It smelled and felt like sleeping in a wet, moldy dungeon. A lot of our stuff smelled like this even after we left. We only stayed because there was nothing else available during mid-autumn festival. Some staff seem to get rather fretful when you need information in english. Others, however, are at least trying to help you (which is all I'm asking for). I'm not really picky regarding accommodation, but this was a rather bad experience.
  • 49%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Rudiger Germany
  • Great location, helpful staff, expensive café/restaurante but good selección of food
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2015 sally Scotland
  • Not the best choice for english speakers who will be needing information in english. If you do choose this hostel, ask for Lizie. I had seen another review a person had said that they roll their eyes when having to deal with the English speakers....its true. Thank goodness for Lizie. At least there was one person there to save me. Room was small, but for one person, I was happy. The shared other reviews have said....not a pretty thing to share. Someone had really bad aim.
  • 66%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent stay. Clean and tidy rooms and very helpful staff.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Pedro Portugal
  • It wasn't a bad place, but the where it is located may be a little hard to find. (and returning at night may be difficult if you don't remember where it is). But it's in a nice area with shops and vendors.The staff was pretty friendly, but most of the people in the hostel are not foreigners. I was put in a room with all Chinese, which was fine, but if you don't speak mandarin, it could be hard to communicate. Luckily, my mandarin was could enough to communicate with them.
  • 77%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Positives: perfect location. staff went beyond what would be expected of them to help me out (in a city where English isn't that common). not much better value for money in this area. Negatives: some rooms have smelly drain, but not all.
  • 89%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Matthew Australia
  • Never seen that in China
  • 100%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Victoria Belgium
  • It's the best we could have had for a room in the center of Hangzhou at such a great price. The staff is really nice, helpful, and speaks English pretty well. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. The decoration and the atmosphere were exactly what can be expected of a youth hostel in the center of a big city. I loved my stay there! The only thing that I would change would be the price of the coffe at the Cafe, a bit too pricey in my opinion.
  • 97%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »