See other Amsterdam properties

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 75% from 26 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms were small and musty, the bathroom was minimal. The entire place had a strange smell. The common area was awesome, has a nice bar and restaurant with good food for good prices. Great location. Great security, have to show your key to get into the hostel, all rooms lock behind you, and the rooms have big lockers. Breakfast was good.
    Owner Comment

    Hi! Thanks for your review! See you again soon?! Hans Brinker

  • 83%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved breakfast!
    Owner Comment

    Hi! Did you love our Happy Hour too? Hans Brinker

  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • I really liked the vibe in that Hostel. We felt safe all the time and the atmosphere was very good too. Awesome breakfast and don't miss the Happy Hour from 5-6pm! Highly recommend the hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, Thanks for your review! See you next time you're visiting Amsterdam at our Happy Hour? Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Jakob Austria
  • We weren't expecting too much when we booked this hostel in Amsterdam, and when we arrived, we found we were right. The hostel was dirty and the halls had an odd, musty smell. The cleaning staff was nice and came around regularly, but the smell persisted. I am normally not too picky about my hostels, but for the price we paid, this hostel was not worth it. My group of 7 had to split into two rooms and half of us got placed in what we deemed, "the dungeon". Drink specials were cool though.
    Owner Comment

    Hi , Thanks for your review! Please mind we are one of the cheapest hostels in the center of Amsterdam. We are a really basic hotel, but we provide everything you need during your stay. As we have limited large dorms, we sometimes have to divide a group in 2 rooms (positive side: you don't have to share 1 bathroom with 7 people). Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 57%
  • 27 May 2014 Ryan USA
  • Stayed for 2 nights. Had luck to stay in a room with nice people. Price is good compared to other places. Location not so close to center, but we did it all by walk and was not a problem. U can always get public transport, which is very convenient as well, but we just preferred walking/wondering about. Noise was not a problem, breakfast is excellent, happy hour beer at 2 euro. Not the best but definitely not the worst. They are very honest about their offer. Best price for what u get. Recommend.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, Thanks for your review! About our location, we are right in the middle of the center, but located in a quiet street. We are 3 min. away from entertainment area Leidseplein, around the corner from the main shopping street Leidsestraat and the museums at Museumplein. Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 80%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Definitely not the worst one,but not the best. But it's cheap and has a good location so I would recommend it as a place to say for a few nights.
  • 66%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • the most disgusting hostel i have ever stayed in. showers were filthy. not suitable to live in.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, Our rooms (and common rooms) get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests they can get the place messy after cleaning. We are a really basic hotel, but far from dirty. Hans Brinker

  • 31%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Bryan USA
  • Best worst hostel ever
    Owner Comment

    Hi! Best summary in four words! Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 89%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • There is no wifi in the rooms!!! At nights if you want to be online you have to go to downstairs, to an "underground party". This is the only place you can get wifi.
    Owner Comment

    Hi Nurtac, We have free wifi at our bar, restaurant and underground club. Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 66%
  • 30 Nov 2013 NURTAÇ Turkey
  • Nothing extra.. But all what you need is here ) Bed, pub (not very clearn but fun), beer and food. He is almost in the center! I like this hostle =)
    Owner Comment

    Hi Konstantin, Thanks for your review! Actually we are situated in the middle of the center: next to entertainment area Leidseplein! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

  • 83%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Konstantin Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »