See other Amsterdam properties

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 73% from 21 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The atmosphere at the hostel is great. The offered everything i needed also (a locker for free). The bar is amazing. It did take too long to reach it though from the city center. The value for the money was good. I would stay there again.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! I just don't get it that it took you a long time to reacht it from the city center? We're right in the middle of the center! :D

  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2016 Sammy USA
  • The hostel call itself as "the worst hostel", I can say that it's not the worst, but it's far away from good. The room was dirty (I think they never vacuumed it) and the people in the staff were not the most friendly ones. Pros: - good breakfast - nice social areas Cons: - dirty rooms - staff - small, dirty and old washrooms.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! Of course we don't want to be serious about being the worst ;) But concerning the cleaning we will keep an extra eye on this. And the staff should have been nice....so hopefully both things next time will be better for your, if there will be a next time :)

  • 57%
  • 02 Sep 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel is perfect for people going to Amsterdam to partying. There is a club and a bar directly in the hostel. The room I was staying in however, was very dirty. The floors were sticky and the stuff of the other guest was spread all over the floor. The bathroom was not very clean either.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! And sorry to hear it wasn't as cleas as it's supposed to be. Maybe part of it was your roommates, but we will keep an extra eye on this..!

  • 74%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Hostel had a great atmosphere, people were very friendly am definitely coming back next year!
    Owner Comment

    Yes please, come back :) Thank you!

  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2016 Alexander England
  • The location was excellent there was even a bike rental ahop across the street. Staff were ok, but the atmosphere was not great. There was a middle school class or two staying there and hanging out in the bar/common area along with an older mens sports team. Wifi didnt work in the rooms, there were not enough bathrooms and no fridge for us to even put our food in along with no cooking facilities. Would not stay again
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! The mix of people we can't always arrange..but sometimes a mix does make a good vibe... quite personal of course! We will check the wifi though, because yes that should work. Because we have food options to buy we don't have possibilities for your own... hopefully you enjoyed that food!

  • 66%
  • 25 May 2016 Jazmin Canada
  • The Hans Brinker was in a great location and was a decent hostel! You have to show your keys to get in at night so is fairly secure. There's a bar in the hostel with a pretty neat atmosphere and there's a good breakfast buffet included in your stay every morning. The rooms are decently clean and there is one bathroom per room which are cleaned but get gross quickly with many people using them. There are lockers in the rooms which are great for storing items securely (but also get loud at night)
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review! And all pretty good :) So hope to see you again some day!

  • 69%
  • 18 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Really nice hostel with great location and amazing atmosphere. Of course the rooms are really simple and so is the breakfast, but what more can you ask for with these prices :) I had a great time with my friends and we would highly recommend it to others.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for your really nice review, we're happy to hear that you were happy to be here! Feel free to come back again!

  • 83%
  • 12 Mar 2016 Marc Denmark
  • A very pleasant night &active bar
    Owner Comment

    So enjoyed the bar and disco? Come back again and we will have a beer!Thanks for the short but nice review:)

  • 86%
  • 17 Jan 2016 IAN Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »