See other New York properties

Harlem YMCA

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 12.4km

Rating: 75% from 33 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A totally disaster
  • 20%
  • 29 Dec 2013 shitian China
  • Located right in the heart of Harlem which is good for a tourist. Pretty pricey for what you get but that's New York. I did like that you could use all the YMCA facilities as guest, such as, the gym, swimming pool, tv lounge, etc. Wifi does not work in the rooms like they say.
  • 57%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Helen USA
  • Prior to this stay at the YMCA I spent two nights here in June. Upon both occasions I was greatly impressed by the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. This visit, however, I had trouble sleeping due to loud talking, laughter, and shouting that echoed throughout the hall. That was not my experience during my summer experience. Should I have to come back to do research at the Schomberg, I will not hesitate to book a room at the YMCA.
  • 74%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Melvin USA
  • There were soiled pads in the washrooms, the showers were very dirty - so bring shower shoes. Bring extra warm p.j's if you come in the winter because my room was constantly between 56 and 62 F. The wind that moves through the building meant my door kept banging and rattling, which is creepy. I found a large blanket in the closet in the room, but there was some sort of spilled food on it - I used it anyway.
  • 46%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Ashley Canada
  • OMG! Definitely recommend this place to stay. The quality & cleanliness for that price was a surprise for us! Far better than other hostels. Half a block away from the nearest subway station. We had access to all their amenities. The room looked clean and it felt clean! I had no problem leaving clothes around the place and didn't felt itchy when sleeping, something that i usually feel at other cheap hotels. The only downside is that we couldn't get the a/c to be an acceptable temperature.
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Colombia
  • clean up the bathroom and room
  • 51%
  • 08 Nov 2013 lea France
  • Clean and safe, very close to subway. Harlem sounds very bad but in fact is nicer that many parts of Brooklyn. There're 2 main problems with this hostel: very few bathrooms and lack of the kitchen. You can't even make yourself a coffee in the morning, there's no dishes, spoons, anything. If you want to stay there longer, better bring your own staff.
  • 80%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anna Maria Poland
  • Keep in mind, this is hostel, its meant for single people who just want a place to sleep on the cheap. Very comfortable, great value for money. You can use any of the YMCA facilities while you are there, pool, gym, sauna, ect. sheets were clean and new, room was cleaned on a daily basis. However, the maid took anything I left in my room when I would leave for the day, luckily I was smart enough to not leave anything in the room that I would miss.
  • 77%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Robert Antarctica
  • If you need to make a change to a reservation, email rather than call. I called first (just press 0 and leave a voicemail, otherwise you end up in an endless menu loop) and it took a few days for them to get back to me. By the time someone called, I had emailed them and gotten a response saying I was all set. Other than that, it's decently clean, the staff was really friendly and they made people show their keys when we came into the building at night for security. Great value, would stay again.
  • 89%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Ok for money
  • 77%
  • 09 Jun 2013 Anonymous Serbia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »