See other New York properties

Harlem YMCA

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 12.4km

Rating: 73% from 23 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not a bad place for the price and subway very close to get into all centre of Manhattan. However, toilets & shower facilities were poor along with the common area. Staff friendly and wonderful. My opinion - go to a hotel if you have a few more dollars to spare.
  • 63%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Padraic Ireland
  • i liked it. nice staff, great location. very near to the subway. it's recommended!
  • 97%
  • 10 May 2014 Matthias Germany
  • A totally disaster
  • 20%
  • 29 Dec 2013 shitian China
  • Located right in the heart of Harlem which is good for a tourist. Pretty pricey for what you get but that's New York. I did like that you could use all the YMCA facilities as guest, such as, the gym, swimming pool, tv lounge, etc. Wifi does not work in the rooms like they say.
  • 57%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Helen USA
  • Prior to this stay at the YMCA I spent two nights here in June. Upon both occasions I was greatly impressed by the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. This visit, however, I had trouble sleeping due to loud talking, laughter, and shouting that echoed throughout the hall. That was not my experience during my summer experience. Should I have to come back to do research at the Schomberg, I will not hesitate to book a room at the YMCA.
  • 74%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Melvin USA
  • I originally booked a single room but I was given a room with bunk beds. I asked if it was the same price and the guy at the for desk said yes. The rooms were very old but average and clean. The showers were so so. The place did offer wifi. It was also in a great location near Harlem. You also get a breakfast coupon at a nearby Soul Food restaurant. If you need a cheap place to stay in Manhattan it's okay.
  • 69%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • There were soiled pads in the washrooms, the showers were very dirty - so bring shower shoes. Bring extra warm p.j's if you come in the winter because my room was constantly between 56 and 62 F. The wind that moves through the building meant my door kept banging and rattling, which is creepy. I found a large blanket in the closet in the room, but there was some sort of spilled food on it - I used it anyway.
  • 46%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Ashley Canada
  • OMG! Definitely recommend this place to stay. The quality & cleanliness for that price was a surprise for us! Far better than other hostels. Half a block away from the nearest subway station. We had access to all their amenities. The room looked clean and it felt clean! I had no problem leaving clothes around the place and didn't felt itchy when sleeping, something that i usually feel at other cheap hotels. The only downside is that we couldn't get the a/c to be an acceptable temperature.
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Colombia
  • clean up the bathroom and room
  • 51%
  • 08 Nov 2013 lea France
  • Clean and safe, very close to subway. Harlem sounds very bad but in fact is nicer that many parts of Brooklyn. There're 2 main problems with this hostel: very few bathrooms and lack of the kitchen. You can't even make yourself a coffee in the morning, there's no dishes, spoons, anything. If you want to stay there longer, better bring your own staff.
  • 80%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anna Maria Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »