See other Birmingham properties

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

92/95 Livery Street, Birmingham, England, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 72% from 14 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • High quality hostel, I have been in many hostels and this one is now one of my favourites: peace and silence are priorities here near sleeping rooms, it is full of notices remanding you to respect your fellow guests. But upstairs there is a panoramic tv lounge and another space for loud chats and so on. Lookers in the rooms, very nice light scent in the rooms, clean bathroom and shower room, showers worked perfectly. The staff was friendly and nice. Definitely recommended for respectful people.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Cool hostel, but in a bad/scarring location.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very unaccommodating when problems arose.
  • 43%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Even though the reviews I read werent great, I stayed here because it was dirt cheap ($7)...however even at that price it's a dive. The elevator didn't work, the bathroom door in my 10bed mixed dorm didnt close (or lock, obviously), the room was freezing, no wifi in the rooms is so annoying, no atmosphere in the common room, and the staff were incompetent (with one exception). I wouldnt stay again. Pay $5 more and stay somewhere else.
  • 46%
  • 04 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Basically, it is a good experience! My 8 bed room only have three gentlemen at that time, it is spacious to live in. It is of course good value for money. FIY: the downtown area of Birmingham is under construction and maintenance, it will be a little challenging to find this hostel with large luggage.
  • 83%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • Bread for breakfast was out of date for more than 3 months!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 37%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • We had a pleasant stay at the hostel, but if wifi is provided in the room it would have been very convenient
  • 80%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Nirmala India
  • Reception staff was friendly. However, we accidentally left a case with contacts in the bathroom. Seems like it should have been obvious to them to keep it and turn it in upfront, but they never found it, and seemed a little put off by me wanting to follow up a couple times about it. Overall,a good place to stay and I'd still recommend.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Karl USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »