See other Manchester properties

Hatters on Newton Street

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 74% from 18 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good location, very helpful staff, very good place for future Man Utd visits!
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • The staff is not friendly. There are only 2 power sockets in the 8 people dorm. The toilet is dirty but the shower room is clean. Breakfast is okay, with cereal, bread and other hot drinks. Overall average but I expect more.
  • 69%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great hostel, ideally placed about 5 minutes walk from the main nightclub area. Disappointed that the electrical sockets in room 404 didn't work meaning we had to charge our phones out in the hallway but besides that no real complaints. Great value for 2 nights stay
  • 86%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Stephen Ireland
  • Our room is closed to a hot water bump, it makes noise once someone use hot water all night! I have to say it disturbed our rest!!
  • 74%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous China
  • Very loud, breakfast included, but you need to find clean plate and cup to eat from, I guess they even expected us to wash the dishes after we ate... We had room on the 5th floor, no elevator available (only if you need to get your bag up, the staff will take it). We had a TV in the room, but no remote to turn it on, when I walked down and asked about it, they said I need a bail 5pounds, which would be ok, if I did not left my money on the 5th floor... why did not they tell us when we arrived???
  • 57%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Slovakia
  • There are not many sockets in 18-person rooms, about 1 socket per 4 beds, so you will have to get your phone/laptop charged in common rooms. Well, there are not enough sockets in common rooms, so prepare to spend your time in the dining room. Water in showers is almost boiling and you cannot adjust it. Breakfasts are good, bread/butter/tea/coffee available all the time. Well, these were my worst nights in hostels ever. Every morning I was waked up by some rude persons sorting out their stuff.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • I was booking 3 days in Hatters. I wanna book more days. Staff told me the price for 18p room on weekday is £12.5 per night, Friday night is £19 and Saturday is £21. However, I came back after 2 days, staff told me the price on weekdays is £14.5 and £22 for Friday night for 18p share house!!! WTF!! Why i have to pay more than others?! Terrible thing is that they said £22 for 18p room for Friday is definitely price. But when i check on website £22 is for 10 people women share room on Friday!!!!!
  • 83%
  • 29 May 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Very nice hostel, staff was great!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »