See other Manchester properties

Hatters on Newton Street

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 66% from 15 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hatters (Newton) is a friendly hostel in a great area (Nouthern Quarter). Staff is positive and helpful, the breakfast is decent, the wifi works good, it's maintained rather clean and my dormitory mates were very respectful. Facilities are old. The beds/mattress are worn out, I missed a small lamp by the bed to be able to read, no safety box in the room (they were located in the corridor) and we were not allowed to use the elevator in this five floor building (!).
  • 74%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Anonymous Sweden
  • This place just not worth the money. The same hostel in Liverpool is better than here. Bed is broken, also hurt the back. Never come again. and also Manchester Sucks.
  • 37%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Cool and friendly environment.Look like you almost at home
  • 83%
  • 01 Jun 2016 olukemi
  • The hostel wasn't clean at all. I stayed in many hostels before and I had a pretty good experience. But this one was bad. The bed I stayed in wasn't cleaned. When I checked in at 14.30, it wasn't clean. But then the cleaning staff was still working so I expected that is was cleaned when I came back at 11PM. Still wasn't cleaned. A hostel should be way easier to clean than a hotel, less rooms and bathrooms. Get some good cleaning staff and you will get more guests.
  • 51%
  • 28 May 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The facilities overall are fine, but the beds are very uncomfortable and worn out.
  • 83%
  • 05 Apr 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • Absolutely perfect. Well located, just 5 minutes from bus station, 3 minutes from Tram stop. Also shops and Manchester Piccadilly closde by. Wifi working perfectly, good breakfast, big common roooms with tables, sofas. After being in about 50 hostels worldwide probably this experience has been on the top for sure
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Jordi Spain
  • At arrival to the hostel the staff was very unfriendly but in the morning the staff got better and friendlier, everyone has their bad days I guess. The room didn't lock, and it had no fresh air, making it stink of sweat. The beds were fairly confortable but the blanket way too small (and I'm a very small person) I only stayed for one night.. It wasn't great, but it was fine for one night.
  • 60%
  • 09 Feb 2016 Anonymous Bhutan
  • We went there with a group of 6 people and stayed in the 18 bed dorm. It was quite cold in there and the windows were quite thin. Didn't look like we expected, the photos on the website were probably taken a while ago since everything seemed used and rather old. However the staff were always friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent!
  • 71%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Worst experience in a hostel, despite the friendly and very helpful staffs. I travel with my friend, and this is her first time stay in a hostel. It is sad that Hatters leaves her the impression that all hostels are dirty like this one!
  • 43%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • I was there on a weekend night and the night of a big Man-U match so it was really crowded and noisy till late at night. The walls are thin, it seems, and we could hear traffic all night long. Great if you're into socialising but not-so-great for a popular night if you're up for some peace and quiet. The location is excellent though, just 10-min walk from Manchester Picadilly station!
  • 66%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »