See other Manchester properties

Hatters on Newton Street

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 72% from 15 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We went there with a group of 6 people and stayed in the 18 bed dorm. It was quite cold in there and the windows were quite thin. Didn't look like we expected, the photos on the website were probably taken a while ago since everything seemed used and rather old. However the staff were always friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent!
  • 71%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Worst experience in a hostel, despite the friendly and very helpful staffs. I travel with my friend, and this is her first time stay in a hostel. It is sad that Hatters leaves her the impression that all hostels are dirty like this one!
  • 43%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • I was there on a weekend night and the night of a big Man-U match so it was really crowded and noisy till late at night. The walls are thin, it seems, and we could hear traffic all night long. Great if you're into socialising but not-so-great for a popular night if you're up for some peace and quiet. The location is excellent though, just 10-min walk from Manchester Picadilly station!
  • 66%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Friendly staff who organised some free activities for the travelers to share, great location and one of the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Great breakfast as well.
  • 91%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • All in all, a great place to stay.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Felix
  • This hostel was great for what it is, a hostel. I stayed in the 10 bed female dorm. They put new sheets on the bed but the floor was dirty. Bathroom was fine, showers are basic. Security was poor. I was harassed on the street and then an hour later the same guy found me in the TV room. The guy wasn't staying in the hostel. Nothing bad happened and I just told him to leave, but it just shows you that they don't check who is staying in the hostel.
  • 51%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I love the place overall, but mostly because I got lucky with good bunkmates. Free breakfast was great. Only complaint was that WiFi isn't available everywhere, and that the bathrooms arent the most modern.
  • 77%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's a very nice place, it's close to the center, facilitie's conditions are good, and they have breakfast for free!!! free!!! I'll definetely look for them if they are in another cities.
  • 91%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Julián Rodrigo Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »