See other Salzburg properties

Haus Christine

Panoramaweg 3, 5300 Hallwang, Salzburg, Austria, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 91% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Haus Christine made our stay in Salzburg amazing - the view from the hostel is incredible and you can see the mountains as you have breakfast. Our double room was everything I hoped for and more, it was very comfortable to stay in and well worth the money. The host was so helpful and gave us a booklet of bus, train and map information - she was very efficient and welcoming. The hostel is pretty easy to find, and is only 3 minutes away by train to the town centre so the location is spot on.
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous England
  • Christine is warm and hospitable. The atmosphere was clean and homey :) Beatiful view of mountains and Salzburg from the winter garden that you eat breakfast in. Easy access to the train and bus into town. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 94%
  • 11 Feb 2014 Calli USA
  • viskas zajabys
  • 86%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Vytautas Lithuania
  • It was really perfect. Only it's not central salzburg, i should take a train, but only in 10 mins. They were so kind and helpful. The meal was nice. (especially tea) i was so happy to be there and we were satisfied 'view' it was perfect. So silence, (it's little scary at night) and peaceful.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • The view is beautiful from the house, but if you've spent the day hiking around salzburg, the hill can be a pain in the butt to hike up to the house. If you have any sort of walking disability I would not recommend this as the hill would be challenging. The staff was friendly and gave good tips on getting around Salzburg, breakfast was good as well. There is a shared toilet/shower which which caused a minor inconvenience when the house was full in the morning.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jul 2013 Chris Canada
  • Nice room- our double room was cheaper than a bed in the 6 person room at the YoHo hostel. Difficult walk up the mountain but worth the view- I would recommend it for younger travels. If the walk up the mountain sucked for a 22 and 23 year old, I couldn't imagine how hard it would be for an older person. One con- no internet. Christine's husband let us use their ancient laptop to get internet- they said the internet was "private." It was really annoying!!!
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2013 Christine USA
  • A very nice place to stay! 1) it's out of town, though it takes only 15 minutes to get to the town centre. 2)it's cosy 3)breakfast is perfect 4)the view of the terrace over the mountains is breathtaking there is only one con- the first day we were there there was no hot water because there was some kind of a brake- down on the statition.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • i have to give big thanks to the host Christine. she works so hard to clean and decorate the rooms. it's like another home to me. the view from the dining hall is absolutely amazing. yet it's quite hard to find the way to the house at first. to save troubles, i would suggest you to take a taxi. once you arrives the hostel, you would recognize the way downhill to catch buses/trains to travel the city centre. i truly love my stay in haus christine. would love to go back!
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • A beautiful house in a beautiful village among the Alps. Very affordable for what you get in return, I was pleasantly surprised at the low cost. I highly recommend it.
  • 91%
  • 09 May 2013 Tatiana Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »