See other Amsterdam properties

Heart Of Amsterdam

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 81% from 23 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location, location, location. Secure lockers big enough for a large backpack/suitcase. The room I was in slept 8, bunk-bed style. Each bed has its own power outlet and tiny shelf w/light. There is a shower-toilet in the room so you're only sharing a bathroom with 8 people and not a whole floor. Watch out for the mosquitos.
  • 80%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Samuel
  • Right in the Red Light District, close to everything (shops, museums, caffes), cozy, friendly people and a really nice atmosphere. Plumbing was a bit smelly, but i guess that is a common problem in Amsterdam.
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Victor Romania
  • LOCATION!!!Also I had some trouble with my payment and I was charged twice but the reception desk people were super nice and helped me all the way through and made sure we fixed it. The atmosphere is great and the beds are good. Also, the locker system and the bed light and all were great.
  • 89%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Stayed here with a group of people and we all shared a room to ourselves. It was a very positive hostel experience. The staff was very helpful and nice, the cleaning staff were always making sure we had everything we needed and the rooms always seemed clean. The location is amazing, I never walked more than 20 minutes to somewhere else.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Randi USA
  • The staff was kind and helpful during our stay. Definitely worth the money, great choice for those who seek a place to sleep while in Amsterdam. Downtown is just minutes away, everything can be reached with a short walk.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • Right in the middle of red light area; excellent location; big rooms; bathrooms are ok but not well maintained; staff really helped me find cheap (P & R) parking outside the city; steps are too narrow and hard to carry luggages;
  • 86%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous India
  • The location of the Heart of Amsterdam is its best feature! Located right in the heart of the Red Light District it's hard to miss any excitement, which is what I came to Amsterdam for! The staff, especially Sharif (hope I'm spelling that correct), we're very helpful and gave a list of places to see so that by the time I went home 3 days later I had seen all the different areas of Amsterdam. The atmosphere is super chill and the themes of each room add to that coolness. Definitely stay here!
  • 89%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Adrienne Canada
  • Our bathroom always stunk because of something piping related. It was a perfect location, the movie theme throughout the hotel was great! I loved it. Wifi was great, each bed had a shelf an outlet and a light. Towels were provided. I mean it's an old building and there was no a/c so it got hot. But everything you expect in a hotel and more were found here.
  • 77%
  • 18 May 2015 Desiree Canada
  • I come from Brazil, and Stay 2 days in this Hostel, Heart of Amsterdam, and i enjoy all the time, the localization is perfect, near all pubs and city Centre! In the middle of Red Light District. I told to my friends, this hostel is perfect for everything. Eu venho do Brasil, e fiquei dois dias nesse Hostel, Heart of Amsterdam, e aproveitei todo o tempo, a localização é perfeita, perto de todos os pubs e o centro da cidade! No meio da Red Light District, Eu falei para meus amigos!
  • 94%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Location can't be beat. You're within walking distance of anything you could want and it's right in the middle of the red light district so its quite the experience. Helpful staff and very cool environment, although it did feel a little run down in some places, but never dirty. Hope you're not on the top floor, the stairs are crazy!
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Wyatt
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »