See other Amsterdam properties

Heart Of Amsterdam

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 79% from 15 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our bathroom always stunk because of something piping related. It was a perfect location, the movie theme throughout the hotel was great! I loved it. Wifi was great, each bed had a shelf an outlet and a light. Towels were provided. I mean it's an old building and there was no a/c so it got hot. But everything you expect in a hotel and more were found here.
  • 77%
  • 18 May 2015 Desiree Canada
  • I come from Brazil, and Stay 2 days in this Hostel, Heart of Amsterdam, and i enjoy all the time, the localization is perfect, near all pubs and city Centre! In the middle of Red Light District. I told to my friends, this hostel is perfect for everything. Eu venho do Brasil, e fiquei dois dias nesse Hostel, Heart of Amsterdam, e aproveitei todo o tempo, a localização é perfeita, perto de todos os pubs e o centro da cidade! No meio da Red Light District, Eu falei para meus amigos!
  • 94%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Location can't be beat. You're within walking distance of anything you could want and it's right in the middle of the red light district so its quite the experience. Helpful staff and very cool environment, although it did feel a little run down in some places, but never dirty. Hope you're not on the top floor, the stairs are crazy!
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Wyatt
  • It was a cheap hostel so I did not have high expectations. The good things, free safe (five euro refunded deposit), inexpensive and GREAT LOCATION plus no lock out. The main things I found annoying was the lack of signs directing you to your room, the lack of a nice, friendly common area, changed fee due on arrival (by 5 euros), our shower would flood the floor of the entire bathroom and the staff wasn't the friendliest or helpful. But the location compensates for the issues! :) Enjoy the city!!
  • 54%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We were two people, but they insisted to give only one door card, that's so unconvient! But the location is pretty excellent, from the window we can see the redlight showgirl kin the other side of the street. And we could walk to the center station in 5min~~~
  • 71%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Song
  • Great hostel for a great price!
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Whitney USA
  • Great Hostel. It is in the heart of the Red Light district, but don't let that put you off. Clean rooms with plenty of space. Cool box office theme. Small common area. Friendly staff!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The Location was brilliant, the Polish lady at the reception could not have been more helpful and smiley, good hostel to make new friends, and to party in Amsterdam rightly and cheaply(which is still expensive but it's Amsterdam)
  • 74%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Sebastian Poland
  • Good average hostel. Good location, near to the central station and to lots of coffeeshops.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »