See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 84% from 43 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is well located, I stayed in a 6 bed room, it was very clean, the staff is good, the breakfast cost 4 Euro, is simple but is OK. The only but was the shower, that to work you have to push every 4 seconds and I could not have a good bath, moreover the shower is not well fixed and moves by itself. I would return and stay again there. I recommend
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Eduardo Brazil
  • Great place! Big social area. Wifi gets very slow during busy times. Excellent clean bathrooms complete with many mirrors and detachable shower heads... Really friendly staff. Unlimited access to coffee and tea. Near Museum Island--great location. Comfortable beds. Highly recommended!
  • 86%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • was a cool stay, felt very comfortable
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Florian Germany
  • I liked the shower facilities! New clean and big! Id like to provide more locks for the lockers and towels. I suppose everybody says it will be nice to have wifi everywhere but i guess it is because you want people to gather downstairs in the bar to buy drinks at least make it stronger and better connection.
  • 91%
  • 29 May 2014 FRAGKISKOS Greece
  • The staff was nice, however not the friendliest, compared to other hostels I had stayed at. Granted, it seemed to be very busy. However, the bar was a lot of fun and very conducive to meeting new people.
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Jacqueline USA
  • Nice staff.but have que coz many customers .only one staff.
  • 69%
  • 16 May 2014 djumain Indonesia
  • I would definitely recommend this hostel to all, it is great value for money
  • 97%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Good staff (almost all looks like students) - nice and helpful, rooms and bicycle renting service could be cheaper, but all in all it was pleasant stay (3 days) Wifi is free but seems to be available only at the lobby area and can be spotty at times.
  • 77%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Nice hostel, close to Tallinn's old town square! Will recommend it for sure!
  • 83%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Anonymous France
  • The only the thing to suggest will be to have extra toiled paper available in the toilets. With the amount of guests it should not be the case that you need to wait for the next time the toilet is cleaned to get a new one.
  • 97%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Katherine Panama
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »