See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 83% from 35 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Maybe some lessons in politness and couttesy for the staff. Rooms and beds were good. Unrestricted music volume got unreasonable at times depending on staff members whim.I'd stay again, but avoid the reception and bar areas.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • great themed hostel will go back one day
  • 89%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Ian Canada
  • Stayed here over the weekend by myself. Had a great time. Nothing to complain about. Very friendly people. Would recommend!
  • 86%
  • 03 Jul 2015 David Sweden
  • This hostel was very nice the people there and the location were great. It was easy to find your way around from there and if you had any trouble the staff was sure to help you out with a variety of maps and other resources available for free. The bar was a very nice feature attracting even people from other hostels and hotels. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hostel to other people.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We were drawn in by the Hitchhiker's Guide theme, so naturally, we stayed in the 42 bed megadorm. Considering the scale, it was impressively clean and well-maintained - same with the bathrooms. Hostel is in a nice location in the Mitte district, a short stroll from a U-bahn stop, so getting around is never a problem. Our biggest complaint is that the "kitchen" is less of a kitchen and more of a "room with a microwave"... don't expect to do any cooking. Other than that, would recommend.
  • 80%
  • 14 May 2015 Vanessa Canada
  • The staff made a mixed up regarding the payment of the deposit. It would be nice if they clarified the issue and not make the guest look unproffesional in front of other guests.
  • 71%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Need to reinforce the quiet time better. People make noise well passed 8 o clock and early in the morning, making it difficult to sleep at times. Great location and friendly staff otherwise. Overall good experience.
  • 86%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Hostel was clean. we had a room with a shower and sink, which was very nice. The hostel had a band and cheap drinks at night, if you wanted to stay up, however the hostel was not loud and very close to everything. highly recommended.
  • 80%
  • 05 May 2015 michelle USA
  • The security doesn't seem too tight and the location is not exactly close to the main train station. With that said the hostel is amazing. I stayed in the mega dorm which is very clean and bright during the day. The lockers are big and the bathrooms are clean as well. The wifi is spotty in some spots but overall works great. Outlets are scarce though. Overall great experience
  • 91%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • bad WIFI conexion, good rooms so modern
  • 83%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »