See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 84% from 39 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was clean. we had a room with a shower and sink, which was very nice. The hostel had a band and cheap drinks at night, if you wanted to stay up, however the hostel was not loud and very close to everything. highly recommended.
  • 80%
  • 05 May 2015 michelle USA
  • The security doesn't seem too tight and the location is not exactly close to the main train station. With that said the hostel is amazing. I stayed in the mega dorm which is very clean and bright during the day. The lockers are big and the bathrooms are clean as well. The wifi is spotty in some spots but overall works great. Outlets are scarce though. Overall great experience
  • 91%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • bad WIFI conexion, good rooms so modern
  • 83%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • I think the only complaints I would have is the inconsistent wifi and how the showers turn off after seven seconds. But everything else was great. There was a nice bar for if you wanted to socialize but the rooms were quiet for when you wanted to sleep. The bathrooms and rooms were quiet clean and spacious. And, to top it all off, the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy theme was super cool.
  • 94%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Janina USA
  • Good option, but a little bit far from everything.
  • 77%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Pretty hostel, it's more 3 stars hotel than a hostel
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Morocco
  • Hostel was location in a good part of town close to Museum Island and other attractions. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was average. The lockers in the rooms were extremely noisy and some of the beds were damaged causing them to make annoying noises during the night when you toss and turn.
  • 66%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Great hostel, I wish I had stayed here from begining of my stay in Berlin.
  • 86%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Patrick Canada
  • The Wifi was very poor. That said, I didn't come to Berlin to use the Wifi :)
  • 83%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Hans Ramsgaard Denmark
  • Very nice clean hostel. Very easy to meet new people in the massive comon room. Definitely reccomend it!
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Sam England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »