See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 84% from 45 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think the only complaints I would have is the inconsistent wifi and how the showers turn off after seven seconds. But everything else was great. There was a nice bar for if you wanted to socialize but the rooms were quiet for when you wanted to sleep. The bathrooms and rooms were quiet clean and spacious. And, to top it all off, the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy theme was super cool.
  • 94%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Janina USA
  • Good option, but a little bit far from everything.
  • 77%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Pretty hostel, it's more 3 stars hotel than a hostel
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Morocco
  • Hostel was location in a good part of town close to Museum Island and other attractions. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was average. The lockers in the rooms were extremely noisy and some of the beds were damaged causing them to make annoying noises during the night when you toss and turn.
  • 66%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Great hostel, I wish I had stayed here from begining of my stay in Berlin.
  • 86%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Patrick Canada
  • The Wifi was very poor. That said, I didn't come to Berlin to use the Wifi :)
  • 83%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Hans Ramsgaard Denmark
  • Very nice clean hostel. Very easy to meet new people in the massive comon room. Definitely reccomend it!
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Sam England
  • The hostel is well located, I stayed in a 6 bed room, it was very clean, the staff is good, the breakfast cost 4 Euro, is simple but is OK. The only but was the shower, that to work you have to push every 4 seconds and I could not have a good bath, moreover the shower is not well fixed and moves by itself. I would return and stay again there. I recommend
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Eduardo Brazil
  • WIFI doesn't exist except for very early in the morning and the employee's really don't care.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Doran Canada
  • Great place! Big social area. Wifi gets very slow during busy times. Excellent clean bathrooms complete with many mirrors and detachable shower heads... Really friendly staff. Unlimited access to coffee and tea. Near Museum Island--great location. Comfortable beds. Highly recommended!
  • 86%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »