See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 82% from 37 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Next time I'm in Berlin, I would definitely come back!
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Sofía Argentina
  • place of thieves.
  • 40%
  • 13 Sep 2015 SIMONA
  • I definitely liked my stay at Heart of Gold Hostel. It was very friendly and warm. The staff was just sweet. People were also very friendly although we were basically two people in the 8person dorm. So i couldnt meet a lot of people. Yet i had my share of fun there and definitely recommend. One last thing, please, just please remove that timer for the showers.
  • 91%
  • 30 Aug 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Terrible roomates, hostel was ok, although wombat is much better imo
  • 54%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Niek Costa Rica
  • Maybe some lessons in politness and couttesy for the staff. Rooms and beds were good. Unrestricted music volume got unreasonable at times depending on staff members whim.I'd stay again, but avoid the reception and bar areas.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • great themed hostel will go back one day
  • 89%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Ian Canada
  • Stayed here over the weekend by myself. Had a great time. Nothing to complain about. Very friendly people. Would recommend!
  • 86%
  • 03 Jul 2015 David Sweden
  • This hostel was very nice the people there and the location were great. It was easy to find your way around from there and if you had any trouble the staff was sure to help you out with a variety of maps and other resources available for free. The bar was a very nice feature attracting even people from other hostels and hotels. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hostel to other people.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We were drawn in by the Hitchhiker's Guide theme, so naturally, we stayed in the 42 bed megadorm. Considering the scale, it was impressively clean and well-maintained - same with the bathrooms. Hostel is in a nice location in the Mitte district, a short stroll from a U-bahn stop, so getting around is never a problem. Our biggest complaint is that the "kitchen" is less of a kitchen and more of a "room with a microwave"... don't expect to do any cooking. Other than that, would recommend.
  • 80%
  • 14 May 2015 Vanessa Canada
  • The staff made a mixed up regarding the payment of the deposit. It would be nice if they clarified the issue and not make the guest look unproffesional in front of other guests.
  • 71%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »