See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 81% from 25 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved the theme and of the people I met all of them were cool and helpful.
  • 86%
  • 13 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Blonde german guy at reception treated me very badly
  • 46%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Florian Spain
  • Nice hostel, very clean, good breakfast. We can rent bikes which is a good thing to visit Berlin. I recommand !!!
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2016 Morgane France
  • Large scale hostel with a decent breakfast and great staff.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Riley Canada
  • Great hostel. Rooms with great views. Bar and breakfast in reception (breakfast 5€), free coffe and tee. Staff very good and friendly. Does not have wifi in the rooms
  • 97%
  • 10 Apr 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • nice hostel with good location but stuff was not very friendly and nice and could not talk german, what is kinda strange in Berlin! beside that everything was cool
  • 69%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Amazing hostel, can't recommend it enough, best one so far! The staff were great, very helpful. The rooms themselves were awesome, very clean and spacious. I was on the 4th floor and with all the windows it got a little hot during the day but once the sun was down it cooled off to a more reasonable temperature. There was a great kitchen to cook in that helped save some money on buying food all the time. Location was also pretty great and close to public transport for those places farther away.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Everything was good, the only think that can bother you is the shower. If I come back to Berlin I'd stay there again for sure.
  • 77%
  • 22 Dec 2015 Marlon Alberto Brazil
  • The hostel was excellent! Very friendly staff, perfect location. We could go walking to Brandenburger Tor in under 20 minutes, as well as to the Museum Island and other interesting places. No wifi in the room, (there was in the common room, which was enough for us).
  • 89%
  • 06 Nov 2015 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »