See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 83% from 31 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Absolutely LOVED this hostel! The reception was SO friendly and helpful, the location was perfect! We walked almost everywhere! It was so clean, and I was not expecting it to be super chill and calm for a 50 bed dorm room! i would DEFINITElY come back here if I come back to Berlin!!!
  • 97%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Paulina USA
  • Friendly staff, lounge with bar and pooltable, close to everything. Cheap and great
  • 86%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Fabian Sweden
  • Wifi is only available in the bar/lounge, which is not very convenient.
  • 80%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Even though we could not access internet from the room, we enjoyed the stay. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. We had to wait a bit for other people to shower, but it did not take too long.
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Elisabed Georgia
  • The bar is nice and the staff are friendly. The wifi is very poor and it is a loud, partying hostel so it's fun until it's time to sleep. You will hear everything in the hallways.
  • 77%
  • 23 Oct 2013 joshua USA
  • the location of the hostel is good. You can get to the most interesting places both on foot or by public transport. The staffs are helpful. Facilities are new and good to use. Free WiFi is only available on common area. There is no connection in the room :(
  • 91%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • Nice staff
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The staff could be more polite, and insterested to help, the bathrooms are not enough for the amount of people staying in 1 floor and toilet paper was missing for hours. They should have wi-fi in every floors, not just in the bar.
  • 66%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous Portugal
  • Lovely big bathrooms, incredible staff. Great atmosphere in the lobby.
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Miika Sweden
  • Hostel was a good location. It was in the city but it was still a quiet area. It was very very hot there, fans would've been nice.
  • 69%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »