See other Berlin properties

Heart of Gold Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 79% from 28 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel. Rooms with great views. Bar and breakfast in reception (breakfast 5€), free coffe and tee. Staff very good and friendly. Does not have wifi in the rooms
  • 97%
  • 10 Apr 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • nice hostel with good location but stuff was not very friendly and nice and could not talk german, what is kinda strange in Berlin! beside that everything was cool
  • 69%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Amazing hostel, can't recommend it enough, best one so far! The staff were great, very helpful. The rooms themselves were awesome, very clean and spacious. I was on the 4th floor and with all the windows it got a little hot during the day but once the sun was down it cooled off to a more reasonable temperature. There was a great kitchen to cook in that helped save some money on buying food all the time. Location was also pretty great and close to public transport for those places farther away.
  • 97%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Everything was good, the only think that can bother you is the shower. If I come back to Berlin I'd stay there again for sure.
  • 77%
  • 22 Dec 2015 Marlon Alberto Brazil
  • The hostel was excellent! Very friendly staff, perfect location. We could go walking to Brandenburger Tor in under 20 minutes, as well as to the Museum Island and other interesting places. No wifi in the room, (there was in the common room, which was enough for us).
  • 89%
  • 06 Nov 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Next time I'm in Berlin, I would definitely come back!
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Sofía Argentina
  • place of thieves.
  • 40%
  • 13 Sep 2015 SIMONA
  • I definitely liked my stay at Heart of Gold Hostel. It was very friendly and warm. The staff was just sweet. People were also very friendly although we were basically two people in the 8person dorm. So i couldnt meet a lot of people. Yet i had my share of fun there and definitely recommend. One last thing, please, just please remove that timer for the showers.
  • 91%
  • 30 Aug 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Terrible roomates, hostel was ok, although wombat is much better imo
  • 54%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Niek Costa Rica
  • Maybe some lessons in politness and couttesy for the staff. Rooms and beds were good. Unrestricted music volume got unreasonable at times depending on staff members whim.I'd stay again, but avoid the reception and bar areas.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »