See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 90% from 29 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good hostel, excellent location, very close to everything important in Edinburgh, the staff was incredible nice, definitelly a good place to stay in Edinburgh.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Vanessa Mexico
  • Felt very secure, the location was perfect but secluded enough from the street, and the staff was overall great. Some staff members were EXTREMELY helpful and went out of their way with tips/recommendations/assistance, most were at least friendly/sociable, while a couple seemed unfriendly/not willing to help. Not a great hostel to make friends at if you're traveling alone from my experience staying here. Hostel was clean enough and a good value! Free wifi! Kitchen/lounge was spacious
  • 89%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Janelle USA
  • Very nice hotel in Edinburgh. Great value for your money.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Flavio Brazil
  • Excellent hostel, the best I have stayed in during my travels. Very clean, tidy, comfortable, and nicely presented, well organized with lots of free or cheap facilities and services. Also has an awesome lounge, yard and space for socializing.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Joni Netherlands
  • EXCELLENT location right in the middle of the Royal Mile, you can easily choose to go up or down in the small city. Be prepared for small rooms. Security was rated low because their lockers are small and cannot fit standard roller suitcase (that can typically be carried onto a plane).
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Mark USA
  • Perfect location, incredibly honest & helpful staff, well set-up rooms, even the large rooms feel decently small. We loved our stay!
  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Brenna USA
  • The website made it seem a bit cooler. We never found the suit of armor wearing a kilt!
  • 89%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel was in a great location. Linens and bathrooms were clean. Definitely recommend.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Sadie USA
  • I really liked High Street Hostel. It's located right of the Royal Mile which is nice. The staff was really friendly and the place was clean and there was always hot water. We stayed in a double room on the 7th floor. The rooms were smaller than I expected and it was kind of hard to get on the top bunk without a railing to hold onto (maybe it's cause I'm short). I would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I love this hostel! This says it all. The location is awesome and the staff is very helpful. I stayed in 4-bed dorm an it's a bit small for me. The kitchen and dining area is spacious and it's a good to save money by cooking and sharing with friends. They also have free pub crawl every Thursday. Good memory!
  • 94%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »