See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 88% from 33 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is hard to beat the location. Only real issue was that the room was pretty smelly. We stayed in a 10 person mixed dorm though, so perhaps the other rooms were nicer... Or maybe it was just one of the guests.
  • 80%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Christopher USA
  • I have enjoyed my stay in this Hostel located in the heart of the Old town. All tourist spots are just walking distance so you do not need a bus to see them. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating. Internet connection is fast and also available in rooms. Toilets and shower are clean. The only problem was, the beds were not as new anymore and I think they need to be replaced as they create annoying sounds. They do not have luggage storage when you want to leave your stuffs after check out
  • 80%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Clean, comfortable beds. Large eating and cooking areas. Convenient for the sights of Edinburgh.
  • 97%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staffs are very kind.
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Ya Wen
  • Very good hostel, excellent location, very close to everything important in Edinburgh, the staff was incredible nice, definitelly a good place to stay in Edinburgh.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Vanessa Mexico
  • Felt very secure, the location was perfect but secluded enough from the street, and the staff was overall great. Some staff members were EXTREMELY helpful and went out of their way with tips/recommendations/assistance, most were at least friendly/sociable, while a couple seemed unfriendly/not willing to help. Not a great hostel to make friends at if you're traveling alone from my experience staying here. Hostel was clean enough and a good value! Free wifi! Kitchen/lounge was spacious
  • 89%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Janelle USA
  • Very nice hotel in Edinburgh. Great value for your money.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Flavio Brazil
  • Excellent hostel, the best I have stayed in during my travels. Very clean, tidy, comfortable, and nicely presented, well organized with lots of free or cheap facilities and services. Also has an awesome lounge, yard and space for socializing.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Joni Netherlands
  • EXCELLENT location right in the middle of the Royal Mile, you can easily choose to go up or down in the small city. Be prepared for small rooms. Security was rated low because their lockers are small and cannot fit standard roller suitcase (that can typically be carried onto a plane).
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Mark USA
  • Perfect location, incredibly honest & helpful staff, well set-up rooms, even the large rooms feel decently small. We loved our stay!
  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Brenna USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »