See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 84% from 21 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the location was great, the staff was helpful, people were cool, the beds were kind of uncomfortable and our room stank, but I think that was because of someone's feet and not necessarily to do with the hostel itself. You win some you lose some.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We had a great stay at High Street Hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean. The cheap breakfast option is very convenient. I also recommend trying one of the bars or restaurants that offer discount if you show them the hostel card. Would stay in this hostel again!
  • 94%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Isabel Germany
  • Very nice hostel, clean with a big "hang- around- area":) Very nice location, close to everything in old town but still not in the busiest nightclub area. Can highly recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Amanda Sweden
  • I had a great time at High Street Hostel. Excellent laundry service and cheap breakfast option.
  • 91%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • It was just lovely. I felt very welcome. Everything was very clean, the bathrooms and also the huge kitchen and everything else. I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitely book it again. Especially the staff is doing a great job to make you feel less on vacation and more like home.
  • 94%
  • 03 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • It is hard to beat the location. Only real issue was that the room was pretty smelly. We stayed in a 10 person mixed dorm though, so perhaps the other rooms were nicer... Or maybe it was just one of the guests.
  • 80%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Christopher USA
  • I have enjoyed my stay in this Hostel located in the heart of the Old town. All tourist spots are just walking distance so you do not need a bus to see them. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating. Internet connection is fast and also available in rooms. Toilets and shower are clean. The only problem was, the beds were not as new anymore and I think they need to be replaced as they create annoying sounds. They do not have luggage storage when you want to leave your stuffs after check out
  • 80%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Clean, comfortable beds. Large eating and cooking areas. Convenient for the sights of Edinburgh.
  • 97%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staffs are very kind.
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Ya Wen
  • Very good hostel, excellent location, very close to everything important in Edinburgh, the staff was incredible nice, definitelly a good place to stay in Edinburgh.
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Vanessa Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »