See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 79% from 20 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel's main perk is the location. It is right off the royal mile so super central to everything you might want to do in the city. The beds, security, and cleanliness was on par to any other hostel I've been to. Some of the staff were really nice and helpful and a couple seemed annoyed when you asked questions. The atmosphere wasn't as lively as some of the other hostels but if you are just looking for cheap accommodations it's perfect.
  • 71%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Allison USA
  • The hostel is conveniently located. However there are no sockets available for our use in the dorms and everyone had to take our batteries or electrical appliances to the reception to charge them. The wi-fi was super slow. Anyway there are better value-for-money options in Edinburgh.
  • 71%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Our double room was very basic, just beds. A few hooks would be useful, maybe a chair or a small table. The 4-bed room was actually more pleasant.
  • 83%
  • 13 Sep 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • Unisex bathrooms/showers are a little awkward. Staff friendly.
  • 74%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Good place to stay. Nothing to complain
  • 86%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great location and helpful staff! Stable wifi and the room is quite clean. But there's no place to put your towels and other stuff in the bathroom.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jun 2013 Kam Yuk Hong Kong
  • The staff was not very responsive to queries about sightseeing etc.
  • 60%
  • 28 Jun 2013 VINOD India
  • There was some smell in the room and my pajama full of the strange smell during my stay.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Much bigger hostel than I expected. Very busy. Excellent location and we were able to leave our bags all morning until our afternoon train.
  • 80%
  • 28 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't like our double private bedroom. It was really small and the heater didn't work.
  • 51%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Miguel Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »