See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 85% from 21 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 99%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice hostel with a perfect location and good environment.
  • 94%
  • 24 Aug 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • A nice surprise in the heart of Edinburgh, it was my first time staying at a hostal. In the heart of the city, everything was very clean and staff extremely helpful. I arrived 6 hours before the check in time and they still let me shower and use the rest of the facilities. Is close to everything and is a 10 minutes walk to the Bus station, and to a lot of pubs, never used an uber or even the bus because of how close everything was. The outlets and lockers are right next to the bed.
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2016 Anonymous Dominican Republic
  • Really enjoyed my stay at High Street Hostel. Great location, easy walk from the bus station. Great kitchen facilities. Helpful, fun, staff.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • the location was great, the staff was helpful, people were cool, the beds were kind of uncomfortable and our room stank, but I think that was because of someone's feet and not necessarily to do with the hostel itself. You win some you lose some.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We had a great stay at High Street Hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean. The cheap breakfast option is very convenient. I also recommend trying one of the bars or restaurants that offer discount if you show them the hostel card. Would stay in this hostel again!
  • 94%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Isabel Germany
  • Very nice hostel, clean with a big "hang- around- area":) Very nice location, close to everything in old town but still not in the busiest nightclub area. Can highly recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Amanda Sweden
  • I had a great time at High Street Hostel. Excellent laundry service and cheap breakfast option.
  • 91%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • It was just lovely. I felt very welcome. Everything was very clean, the bathrooms and also the huge kitchen and everything else. I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitely book it again. Especially the staff is doing a great job to make you feel less on vacation and more like home.
  • 94%
  • 03 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • It is hard to beat the location. Only real issue was that the room was pretty smelly. We stayed in a 10 person mixed dorm though, so perhaps the other rooms were nicer... Or maybe it was just one of the guests.
  • 80%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Christopher USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »