See other Edinburgh properties

High Street Hostel

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 89% from 31 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was in a great location. Linens and bathrooms were clean. Definitely recommend.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Sadie USA
  • I really liked High Street Hostel. It's located right of the Royal Mile which is nice. The staff was really friendly and the place was clean and there was always hot water. We stayed in a double room on the 7th floor. The rooms were smaller than I expected and it was kind of hard to get on the top bunk without a railing to hold onto (maybe it's cause I'm short). I would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I love this hostel! This says it all. The location is awesome and the staff is very helpful. I stayed in 4-bed dorm an it's a bit small for me. The kitchen and dining area is spacious and it's a good to save money by cooking and sharing with friends. They also have free pub crawl every Thursday. Good memory!
  • 94%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great atmosphere, perfect location, very friendly staff members, the room and mutual areas were very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend it to friends and people I know!
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Excellent staff. Great location. Thanks for the help with busses and trains. This hostel is a busy one righ within the old city but in a quiet street so you can get sleep. Rooms get quite full even in offseason as Edinburgh is a great place. There's a bar/lounge/cafeteria on the bottom floor and the lobby is quite busy most of the time. 24 hour staff are pretty nice and definitely can help you out. Bathrooms and showers are clean and well maintained.
  • 97%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Nilo USA
  • Very good.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Jose Carlos Brazil
  • Loved this hostel - right on the Royal Mile! Could not ask for better location. The rooms were nice and the staff cleaned and prepared the beds excellently every day. The kitchen was very big and was easy to use with many facilities available. Only downside was the paid-for breakfast and the cleaning hours, which meant the kitchen was unavailable between 7am to 12:30pm. Highly recommend and will look to staying here again if ever in the amazing city if Edinburgh. 24 hour reception is helpful too
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Very friendly personal, informative and attentive. As a suggestion, I'd recommend to let people connect laptops by ethernet cable, as my laptop didn't have an operative wi-fi card and I couldn't connect to the Internet.
  • 83%
  • 08 Oct 2014 VICTOR Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »