See other Washington DC properties

Hilltop Hostel

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.2km

Rating: 86% from 10 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hilltop is a nice place to stay, and it only take two minutes to the Matro. The people there are very nice.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • This is the worst hostel i ve ever been. Employee is unkind and rude. Also, facilites is not clean. but location is located next to the subway. i don't recommend you, who wants to accomadte this hostel.
  • 46%
  • 03 Jun 2016 SEOWAN South Korea
  • I'm not your stereotypical first-time hostel visitor and this place made it a very comfortable experience and I'd do it again. My plane was delayed so my arrival was after their normal hours but Ron and Lori said to just call and were right there when I came in. I enjoyed meeting the folks who came in and out while I was there. The relaxed atmosphere was a great help at the end of the business day and allowed me to unwind to get to sleep. Thank you! I had a great time!
  • 86%
  • 14 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel facility is a renovated Victorian home with high ceilings and wood floors. It has plenty of character and more importantly, lots of great vibes and a friendly, helpful staff. The building was quite clean and designed to be supportive of patrons who needed the necessities of home. Before I arrived I was concerned about contracting bedbugs and bringing them back to my home....But no worries in that department because the hostel was quite sanitary. I have found my new 'DC home'. Go!
  • 97%
  • 24 Mar 2016 Cassandra USA
  • The environment is nice! But it was quite cold at night in my room. The position is not that convenient since it is too far away from the city center and tourist sites. Thankfully, it is close to the subway.
  • 83%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I loved staying here. It is directly across the street from the metro. There are several great places to eat within walking distance and is a very nice area that feels safe. The staff is great. Ron is super friendly and will have good information for you when you arrive. The woodsman is also nice in a gruff kind of way. Plenty of room to do what you want. Free coffee brewed early in the morning was a huge plus for me. Thanks again!
  • 100%
  • 24 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel muito bem localizado, a menos de 5 minutos da estação de metro.
  • 91%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Pedro Brazil
  • Enjoyed my stay.
  • 89%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Belinda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »