See other Washington DC properties

Hilltop Hostel

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.2km

Rating: 83% from 11 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Facilities are good enough to stay one night with inexpensive price.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Yangji South Korea
  • I had a very good time at the Hilltop Hostel. It has a real "home-y" atmosphere, with comfy couches and holiday decorations. The back porch and yard are lovely and I spent a lot of time out there sitting in the sunshine with the birds. The staff and other guests were friendly and helpful and it made for a peaceful and happy stay. I would definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Jenna Canada
  • Nice hostel if your really just looking for somewhere to sleep! Wasnt very lively but we only need a bed for the night so that wasnt a big deal. Friendly staff, secure, right next to train station which was great! Needs a few 'touch ups' though :)
  • 83%
  • 26 Oct 2013 stephanie Scotland
  • Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere!
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Overall I enjoyed my stay but the pillows had stains and the living room furniture needs to be changed.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • There are some places like lamp shades or some decor trinkets in the kitchen that haven't been cleaned for years. I mean, I don't have royal requirements, cleaning such stuff once a year or every few months is enough. But the current dust is years old. Apart from that Hilltop Hostel is superb.
  • 89%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • Location is good because it is right across from the subway. However, I found out that subway in DC is something extremely expensive and I might as well have stayed at a hostel with a better location and spent the same. It was quite clean, but people were a little bit too old for hostels.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Tamara Brazil
  • The water supply in the third level was not that good but it get fixed on our last day. I enjoyed the hot shower though. There's only a single bathroom in every level, so you have to wait for the bathroom to become available. As for me, I'm always the first one to use it since I get to wake up early. The stairs are a bit steep and narrow. Overall, the place was nice and simple.
  • 71%
  • 24 May 2013 Anonymous Philippines
  • The hostel reservation was booked using a credit card. However, when I arrived I was told they only took cash. If they had included the phrase "NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED" on their website in bold letters I never would have reserved a room as I travel on plastic. What they had was "We only accept cash or travelers checks at time of check in " which led me to believe they did take plastic but rooms had to be put on the card before arriving. Their off site parking is under the table and cash only.
  • 60%
  • 25 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »