See other Washington DC properties

Hilltop Hostel

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.2km

Rating: 72% from 14 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is across the street from a Metro stop - very convenient for getting around the city. There are small stores and shops within walking distance and a large grocery store and restaurants only one Metro stop away. The staff are friendly and helpful and quickly address any issues that arise. There are no locks on the individual room doors but the front door has a security lock and there are lockers in the basement. I've stayed here twice and would stay here again!
  • 83%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's all around a pretty nice place, but the bedbug situation's kind of a problem.
  • 86%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It takes a while to get there from the city center but way is quite easy. Hilltop Hostel is located in an old house with garden and a porch - very nice place to chill during evenings or lazy mornings. Place could be more renovated and clean but atmosphere of real backpackers' place repay for inconvenience. Unfortunately I have to say that our food from the kitchen was permanently stolen - even if signed.
  • 69%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Zuzanna Poland
  • Wouldn't recommend. This is due to the unfriendly/aggressive staff and the unfriendly atmosphere that this creates. AVIOD
  • 46%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Awesome location and environment; excellent access to the metro. Friendly staff. Linens + towel included. There does not seem to be lockers but they allow bags on the bed. Open access around the clock but there's a door code for security. Bathrooms were very clean and functional. There seemed to be some music playing around the clock which didn't bother me-- I could hear the bass notes from the dorms upstairs. The metro fare to get out there is worthwhile. My hostel of choice when in DC.
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Ok, old house in ok area. Close to metro. You can probably find better hostels in more happening areas. Ok, if you just need a place to sleep. Didn't meet anyone.
  • 60%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Facilities are good enough to stay one night with inexpensive price.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Yangji South Korea
  • I had a very good time at the Hilltop Hostel. It has a real "home-y" atmosphere, with comfy couches and holiday decorations. The back porch and yard are lovely and I spent a lot of time out there sitting in the sunshine with the birds. The staff and other guests were friendly and helpful and it made for a peaceful and happy stay. I would definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Jenna Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »