See other Inverness properties

Hillview House

Hillview House, 26 Merlewood Road, Inverness, Inverness, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 78% from 11 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 67%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I booked to stay in the four-bed dorm. This is more like a small room (hobbit house) with two long narrow beds, long enough for two people on each (I would have been playing footsies with someone I didn't know). I asked not to stay in this room and paid additional to go in a twin share. I was lucky as there was no-one else in the room and I ended up on my own. There was no secure locker in either room. The lady managing was excellent and helpful, location peaceful although far away from centre.
  • 83%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Michael Australia
  • Cheap hostel near the centre of town. Nice big kitchen and common area.
  • 80%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Bjarke Denmark
  • Well.... we took the cheapest option... For 10 punds more (genreraly all over scotland) you get a real brekfast and real beds. We slept in a barrel on very hard matrasses that you use in gymnastics... So I wasn't impressed. Brekfast was just serials and toast. We did meet some of the nices and funniest people to talt to though in this hostel. But really it wasn't worth the money...
  • 49%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Niklas Sweden
  • Nice staff. Nice hostel. Everything is more than enough.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • While this is a bit of a hike out of town, there is a bus that will take you to within a stone's throw. Slept in the hobbit hole, which is an enclosed round wooden structure just outside the main house (there are of course rooms inside the house too). Call me a giant nerd, but it was awesome. Super comfortable, and the facilities in the main building are lovely, particularly the kitchen. There were a few families there when we stayed, and everyone was friendly as could be. Lovely place to stay.
  • 94%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Samantha USA
  • Felt like I was staying in the shed.
  • 37%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Michelle USA
  • Very clean and cosy. Kitchen facilities are excellent. Has a large living room with TV.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jun 2014 KIM LEONG Malaysia
  • Very comfortable room , 20 minutes walking distance to town centre. The staff (only one woman who's name escapes me for the moment) was friendly and very helpful A big plus was there no bunk beds so none of us geriatrics had to fight over bottom bunks. All in all a very pleasant stayl
  • 89%
  • 23 May 2014 Donald England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »