See other Hilo properties

Hilo Backpacker's Hostel

69 Waianuenue, Hilo, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 84% from 19 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was one of the worst hostels i have ever stayed.It is very dirty and noisy.In the bathrooms there is no window or air condition. You have to smell all the other people's stuff after they use and you do not have any other option to go to the bathroom since there is very limited bathrooms.Rooms are extremely narrow.Even three people moving in four-people-room are too much for that size room. There is no air conditioner, a very stupid fan instead so the rooms are hot.There is also no security.
  • 26%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Seniha Turkey
  • I really liked Jared! He was really helpful on giving us advice on trips, local things etc. And the breakfast was great! Maybe the hygiene in the rooms could be a little bit better (dust) but all the rest was great!
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Hai Xia Belgium
  • Breakfast included was good. Free shuttle from airport was good. However you need cash to pay the taxi driver and then the hostel deducts the money off your bill. Free snorkel equipment for use and gym equipment.
  • 80%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Troy New Zealand
  • I hope to back soon!
  • 83%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I was very please with my stay,will definitely stay there again,Hilo Backpackers hostel is DA- Kine...the staff were very sweet and so helpful,both of them,I want to say much Mahalo's and Aloha.
  • 89%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Kamila Guyana
  • The staffs are so nice, they advised me a lot. And location is also perfect. I love this hostel and Hilo!
  • 94%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Noriko Japan
  • Great atmosphere at the Hostel- awesome staff and so much fun!
  • 71%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • First, we're not in an asian country where you have to take your shoes off. If everybody is running around barefooted your sure to catch something. In spite of the fact it is very clean. Breakfast is half of a papaya which isnt that bad. The rooms are extremely hot, there is no a/c. If your low on money this is the place for you. But wouldnt recommend it
  • 54%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Jason USA
  • Staff is really helpful.
  • 89%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • It looks like a warehouse outside, but after I came in. I had to admit, I was shocked. Everything is well-organized, and super clean. You can easily find some beautiful paintings on the wall even in the bathroom. I think it is the best hostel I have ever been to till now.
  • 100%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »