See other Hilo properties

Hilo Backpacker's Hostel

69 Waianuenue, Hilo, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 86% from 18 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Breakfast included was good. Free shuttle from airport was good. However you need cash to pay the taxi driver and then the hostel deducts the money off your bill. Free snorkel equipment for use and gym equipment.
  • 80%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Troy New Zealand
  • I hope to back soon!
  • 83%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I was very please with my stay,will definitely stay there again,Hilo Backpackers hostel is DA- Kine...the staff were very sweet and so helpful,both of them,I want to say much Mahalo's and Aloha.
  • 89%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Kamila Guyana
  • The staffs are so nice, they advised me a lot. And location is also perfect. I love this hostel and Hilo!
  • 94%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Noriko Japan
  • Great atmosphere at the Hostel- awesome staff and so much fun!
  • 71%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • First, we're not in an asian country where you have to take your shoes off. If everybody is running around barefooted your sure to catch something. In spite of the fact it is very clean. Breakfast is half of a papaya which isnt that bad. The rooms are extremely hot, there is no a/c. If your low on money this is the place for you. But wouldnt recommend it
  • 54%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Jason USA
  • Staff is really helpful.
  • 89%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • It looks like a warehouse outside, but after I came in. I had to admit, I was shocked. Everything is well-organized, and super clean. You can easily find some beautiful paintings on the wall even in the bathroom. I think it is the best hostel I have ever been to till now.
  • 100%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • So nice place and awesome staff!! Especially owner of the backpacker is so friendly and kind. It has a large space for kitchen and living room space that people can communicate with other people and also hang out!
  • 97%
  • 10 Dec 2013 SUNPIL South Korea
  • Only stayed one night. Came in late and left early next morning. The staff was extremly helpful and kind. Nice people staying at the hostel - only travellers. Big dorms and good beds! Very good value for money! The Internet however kept disconnecting me. Was a bit annoying..
  • 97%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Jesper Stig Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »