See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 85% from 27 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was clean but the bathrooms, I blame this on the guests and not the staff though. While the staff and hostel were nice, the guests when I was there were rude, and partying/vomiting in my dorm. I guess that's what you get for staying at a hostel in a 'party town' though. Overall it was nice, the breakfast was real good, and happy hour beers amazing.
  • 80%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I came for two nights before my excursion and stayed there again two nights after. The 1st time I was impressed. The second time not so much. The dormitory i was put in barely had wifi. It smelled bad. But the worse was the women's bathroom. Every stall was dirty. I told reception about it the next day because nothing had been cleaned. That same night it was still dirty and although I told the reception a second time, nothing was cleaned...
  • 74%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Valentine France
  • Everything about this Hostel is perfect! EVERYTHING!! The staff was great, the rooms were perfect, the atmosphere, the price, the facilities! EVERYTHING! I highly recommend it to everyone!
  • 100%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous Cyprus
  • Great location, right on the main street of Reykjavik. Price is probably the lowest in the city. Staff is friendly and the place is clean. Overall a great place!
  • 94%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Door wasn't closing properly on 312 so it could easily be left un-locked. Was given a 120V adapter by an awesome staff member! Best beer I found in Reykjavik, and was kept very clean. Cheaper than some other hostels and came with more features. Also didn't have any problems when I accidentally showed up a day late.
  • 94%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Byron USA
  • I loved the hostel, clean and safe. The owner and staff were absolutely amazing.
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was amazing place! I was had a very happiness time in here. Thanks!
  • 89%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Reykjavik can be an expensive place but Hlemmur Square gets you right on the main street at a tiny cost. I stayed in the dorm style room. The lobby/bar area is very nice with comfortable seating and although it isn't free the breakfast buffet was really good. The only issue I had was with the lack of soap in the fourth floor mens bathroom during my stay, which was odd. Some staff were very warm and helpful, others not as much.
  • 86%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the best hostels I've ever patronized. Everything was very clean and spacious. Beds were pre-made, which is always appreciated. Desk and bar staff were all friendly and professional. The bar in the lobby has an excellent beer selection also.
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Thomas USA
  • pretty happy with everything
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Daryl Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »