See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 83% from 31 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've done a bit of backpacking through Europe and North America and my opinion of Hlummer Square hostel is than it is nothing short of a 5 hotel experience. The staff were fantastic open to every question I had and very knowledgable of all the tours, pubs and music going on. The room was clean and open, plenty of space to get a group together or have your own space if you preferred. Walking distance of everything worth walking to and an all round great time. Also unlimited hot water showers.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Conor Ireland
  • This place was great! And I would definitely stay here again. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. If you want to take the shuttle just make sure to book as soon as you know which time you want, cause it does fill up. The public transit is an option to.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It was nice that they had lockers under the bed available for personal items to be kept. There's a hardware shop down the street if you need to go buy a lock.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Generally it is a fair place to stay, with convenient location. You can walk one street to get to the town centre. However, it is not convenient enough for girls who lives on the third floor bacause you have to go to the other side of the building in order to go to the toilet. The staffs are nice but the rooms are not clean enough. I suggest there should be some small tables or hooks on the wall in the toilets in order to let people to have space to put clothes.
  • 66%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • There seemed to be too many doors which isolated hostelers from each other. A larger common area with arranged activities to bring people together!
  • 80%
  • 23 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the best Hostels I ever stayed in. The reception and dining area look like in a nice hotel. The rooms are very big and with a lot of space between the beds. My room even had a good view on some mountains. Every morning you had the opportunity to book a wonderful breakfast for 1400 isk. If you wanted to book a tour you only had to go to the reception and they would arrange it for you. Only thing to complain about is that the bathrooms weren't always that clean.
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Mara Charlott Germany
  • I've stayed at a good amount of hostels and there are two main kinds: (1) hotels that you share with strangers, and (2) refuge camps. This place felt like a warehouse. I got absolutely no sleep at this place due to noise and felt like the facilities were human storage rather than a place for people to stay. The facilities were so bad I left a day early and checked into a cheap hotel down the street. I only imagine this place being acceptable if you are incredibly drunk.
  • 37%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik. Centrally located. Facilities ok but kitchen could be bigger. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Definitively would recommend to anyone.
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Great place! Will stay there again! Beds are single beds...No bunk beds! So comfortable! Coffee and tea included in the morning. This hostel is right on the main strip! Do the Golden circle tour and the Blue lagoon!
  • 86%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Hailey Canada
  • Everything was clean but the bathrooms, I blame this on the guests and not the staff though. While the staff and hostel were nice, the guests when I was there were rude, and partying/vomiting in my dorm. I guess that's what you get for staying at a hostel in a 'party town' though. Overall it was nice, the breakfast was real good, and happy hour beers amazing.
  • 80%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »