See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 83% from 18 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Reykjavik can be an expensive place but Hlemmur Square gets you right on the main street at a tiny cost. I stayed in the dorm style room. The lobby/bar area is very nice with comfortable seating and although it isn't free the breakfast buffet was really good. The only issue I had was with the lack of soap in the fourth floor mens bathroom during my stay, which was odd. Some staff were very warm and helpful, others not as much.
  • 86%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the best hostels I've ever patronized. Everything was very clean and spacious. Beds were pre-made, which is always appreciated. Desk and bar staff were all friendly and professional. The bar in the lobby has an excellent beer selection also.
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Thomas USA
  • pretty happy with everything
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Daryl Canada
  • Not great for meeting people. Other hostels in better locations for the same price.
  • 51%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Stephanie USA
  • room was very clean, location was pretty good, very nice bar/lobby, showers were kinda gross
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Joseph Canada
  • The problem was that it was simply not clean enough. The kitchen was dirty. It was as if there weren't enough staff working there. Also, in terms of recycling, was plastic recycled? I couldn't find a container for it in the kitchen. Same situation with the bathrooms. I would put hooks there as people need to hang their towels somewhere and fit shower curtains that cover all the way on the 3rd floor.The top bunk beds were too high in fact one guy in my room, slept on the sofa after a night out!
  • 71%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Seeme England
  • I truly enjoyed my stay with you. So many fascinating travelers to meet. The 14 bed dorm room was very comfortable. People respected each other's needs for quiet or conversation. It was very inconvenient, however, to have to go down the hall, through 2 security doors to access the women's restroom from my #311 room. Also, a good spray with a can of WD40 would eliminate the noisy squeaks of the doors during various times when people were trying to sleep. Breakfast buffet looked good. Price great.
  • 91%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Kay USA
  • No towel and no breakfast included in the price
  • 74%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Franciscus Netherlands
  • No men's WC on my floor, apparently. Relatively comfortable bed. Ok common area where I could crash after my redeye flight
  • 77%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • VEry helpful nice staff, great location in the heart of the town.
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Fabian Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »