See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 84% from 30 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best Hostels I ever stayed in. The reception and dining area look like in a nice hotel. The rooms are very big and with a lot of space between the beds. My room even had a good view on some mountains. Every morning you had the opportunity to book a wonderful breakfast for 1400 isk. If you wanted to book a tour you only had to go to the reception and they would arrange it for you. Only thing to complain about is that the bathrooms weren't always that clean.
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Mara Charlott Germany
  • I've stayed at a good amount of hostels and there are two main kinds: (1) hotels that you share with strangers, and (2) refuge camps. This place felt like a warehouse. I got absolutely no sleep at this place due to noise and felt like the facilities were human storage rather than a place for people to stay. The facilities were so bad I left a day early and checked into a cheap hotel down the street. I only imagine this place being acceptable if you are incredibly drunk.
  • 37%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik. Centrally located. Facilities ok but kitchen could be bigger. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Definitively would recommend to anyone.
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Great place! Will stay there again! Beds are single beds...No bunk beds! So comfortable! Coffee and tea included in the morning. This hostel is right on the main strip! Do the Golden circle tour and the Blue lagoon!
  • 86%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Hailey Canada
  • Everything was clean but the bathrooms, I blame this on the guests and not the staff though. While the staff and hostel were nice, the guests when I was there were rude, and partying/vomiting in my dorm. I guess that's what you get for staying at a hostel in a 'party town' though. Overall it was nice, the breakfast was real good, and happy hour beers amazing.
  • 80%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I came for two nights before my excursion and stayed there again two nights after. The 1st time I was impressed. The second time not so much. The dormitory i was put in barely had wifi. It smelled bad. But the worse was the women's bathroom. Every stall was dirty. I told reception about it the next day because nothing had been cleaned. That same night it was still dirty and although I told the reception a second time, nothing was cleaned...
  • 74%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Valentine France
  • Everything about this Hostel is perfect! EVERYTHING!! The staff was great, the rooms were perfect, the atmosphere, the price, the facilities! EVERYTHING! I highly recommend it to everyone!
  • 100%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous Cyprus
  • Great location, right on the main street of Reykjavik. Price is probably the lowest in the city. Staff is friendly and the place is clean. Overall a great place!
  • 94%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Door wasn't closing properly on 312 so it could easily be left un-locked. Was given a 120V adapter by an awesome staff member! Best beer I found in Reykjavik, and was kept very clean. Cheaper than some other hostels and came with more features. Also didn't have any problems when I accidentally showed up a day late.
  • 94%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Byron USA
  • I loved the hostel, clean and safe. The owner and staff were absolutely amazing.
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »