See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 78% from 22 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The actual hostel looks very different from the pictures. We have stayed in another Hostel before coming to this one and felt a massive difference and disappointment because of the huge contrast. First of all, the wifi is extremely weak in our dorm. We stayed on the third floor and none of the five of us can connect with the wifi in our dorm. The bathroom is a bit dark and it is shared with the others (the one that we stayed earlier is a private one shared by all and its VERY CLEAN, cost lower)
  • 46%
  • 02 Nov 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Too many of the lockers in the bedrooms were broken which was pretty frustrating. Also they had outlets above the beds, but they weren't functional on many of them. Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
  • 69%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • i stayed at female dome. when i arrived, all lower beds were taken so i had to stay on the upper one. because of the building constructure, the space on upper was very narrow which i felt very uncomfortable. i think this is not only female beds room problem but also the other doom rooms too. i strongly suggest that this hostel need to solve this problem. otherwise, many hostelers would feel the same uncomfortableness in the future. also i feel the shower room need improvement.
  • 54%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Nice location, pretty close to the city center. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The 12-dorm room is quite big and cozy indeed. The shared bathroom is a bit lousy - sections are separated only by shower curtains...
  • 74%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • All was ok, Spacious rooms, kind room mates. Staff really helpful (for e.g. printing).
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2015 imre Hungary
  • The hotel was really nice, location was great and the staff was pretty helpful
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Viola
  • I've done a bit of backpacking through Europe and North America and my opinion of Hlummer Square hostel is than it is nothing short of a 5 hotel experience. The staff were fantastic open to every question I had and very knowledgable of all the tours, pubs and music going on. The room was clean and open, plenty of space to get a group together or have your own space if you preferred. Walking distance of everything worth walking to and an all round great time. Also unlimited hot water showers.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Conor Ireland
  • Good location, wifi kept dropping out, bathrooms could be a little cleaner, but rooms are big and have nice furniture in them
  • 80%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Rebecca Australia
  • This place was great! And I would definitely stay here again. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. If you want to take the shuttle just make sure to book as soon as you know which time you want, cause it does fill up. The public transit is an option to.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It was nice that they had lockers under the bed available for personal items to be kept. There's a hardware shop down the street if you need to go buy a lock.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »