See other Reykjavik properties

Hlemmur Square

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 85% from 15 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • room was very clean, location was pretty good, very nice bar/lobby, showers were kinda gross
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Joseph Canada
  • The problem was that it was simply not clean enough. The kitchen was dirty. It was as if there weren't enough staff working there. Also, in terms of recycling, was plastic recycled? I couldn't find a container for it in the kitchen. Same situation with the bathrooms. I would put hooks there as people need to hang their towels somewhere and fit shower curtains that cover all the way on the 3rd floor.The top bunk beds were too high in fact one guy in my room, slept on the sofa after a night out!
  • 71%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Seeme England
  • I truly enjoyed my stay with you. So many fascinating travelers to meet. The 14 bed dorm room was very comfortable. People respected each other's needs for quiet or conversation. It was very inconvenient, however, to have to go down the hall, through 2 security doors to access the women's restroom from my #311 room. Also, a good spray with a can of WD40 would eliminate the noisy squeaks of the doors during various times when people were trying to sleep. Breakfast buffet looked good. Price great.
  • 91%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Kay USA
  • No towel and no breakfast included in the price
  • 74%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Franciscus Netherlands
  • No men's WC on my floor, apparently. Relatively comfortable bed. Ok common area where I could crash after my redeye flight
  • 77%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • VEry helpful nice staff, great location in the heart of the town.
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Fabian Germany
  • Everything was ok. It was a place to stay which is what we wanted.
  • 60%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Johnathan Canada
  • Overall the hostel is very good. The beds and bed linens are comfy. Though, it seems like they don't really have a great system for new people arriving, originally I was going to stay in a room with 16 beds mixed room, but when I got there it was full so I got upgraded to a 12 bed all girls room. This happend to three other girls in my room as well. It was good that I got upgraded, but it tells a lot about the structure of the company. Otherwise I would really recommend this hostel!
  • 89%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Really a great place to stay, the owner is this charming older man, very welcoming atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 06 Jul 2014 David Ireland
  • This hostel was beyond what I could hope for. My friend and I enjoyed being here in this hostel more than anywhere else we travelled in Europe. If you want to stay in Iceland, look no further than Hlemmur Square. The hostel was modern, yet cozy. The lounges look even nicer than the photographs. The rooms were quiet. All of the staff was happy to direct me to things to do at any hour of the day. I absolutely loved it! Best experience i've ever had.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »