See other Liverpool properties

Hoax Hostel

Kansas Buildings, 50-54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 92% from 13 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • To me, hostels are for those who are out of town, needing accommodation. This hostel lets local drunks off the street to "sleep it off" due to the metros not running. I had two of these in my room who came in at 4 in the morning turning on all the lights and talking extremely loud on their phones.
  • 54%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Totally recommended for everyone visiting Liverpool. It's a lite bit noisy because of the pubs that are really near but using ear plugs is sorted! (they provide at reception for free). The hostel is modern, clean, and has everything that you need, like 2 plugs in every bed, which is not always common in hostels and is very helpful :) Thanks for everything guys (specially to the lad who took me to the bus station in his taxi :D)
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2014 IRENE Spain
  • No A/C and there was not a lift..
  • 74%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very-very clean and nice (opposite to Liverpool as itself). Probably the cleanest hostel i saw in my life. Absolutely valuable for money. Perfect location.
  • 94%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Yes the hostel is really perfect, but if the room gives on Mathew it is incredibly noisy until 3 am...
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It was the first time for us to travel in Liverpool city. The city is an excellent place for shopping. Hoax is a good hostel for its location, facilities but the staff there are not so kind. There is only one of them is very nice guy to support us a lot for the first night as we got there so early. And the next day, we can't stand one of the staff's attitude. She was very bad. When we wanna check in our room wasn't cleaned but the reception didn't know that at all, which annoyed us a lot.
  • 89%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • BEST HOSTEL EVER!, I've never felt so good in a hostel before, excellent location, excellent service, great value for your money!, I recommend it 200% :)
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Recommended highly to everyone. I could not fault the Hoax in any way. Thanks a million :)
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Liam Ireland
  • Fantastic stay, good breakfast, good beds. If I go back again I would definitely stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Eveline Netherlands
  • The place is very good. It is just in the city centre. But a little bit noisy because there are some pubs and clubs near here. I think they need some facilities that prevent customers from making a nosy.
  • 94%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »