See other Honolulu properties

Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel

2556 Lemon Rd, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 84% from 15 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location. You can walk to Waikiki Beach and also rent bikes and scooters from downstairs. The dorms are a bit crowded and having only a bathroom for 8 people can be a problem. The good part is that you can cook inside the room and you also have a fridge. It is a big hostel, so the atmosphere suffers a bit because of this but i still met some cool people there.
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Alexandru Romania
  • very good place to stay
  • 91%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Stefan Bulgaria
  • Really fun, party atmosphere- right near the beach and plenty of stores. Questionable cleanliness (I think it was sprayed for bed bugs after I left) and limited kitchen facilities. Significant variation between rooms - I think I had one of the lowest end rooms in the place - it's luck of the draw.
  • 74%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent location to catch excursions. About 200 feet to prime pickup spot. ABC store (not liquor, but all purpose) close. Open at 6:30a; only place to get early breakfast. Comfortable mattresses. Staff very helpful. Sure there was more, but I was only there a few hours.
  • 83%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in three hostels in Honolulu, and this one had the most comfortable bed :)
  • 94%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • Everyone was friendly, nice place, hot showers, a bit loud outside sometimes, clean enough for the price.
  • 86%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Great place to flop in Waikiki
  • 69%
  • 25 Jan 2014 James USA
  • The staff was super friendly! The hostel itself was good, worth the price completely, and the location was fantastic.
  • 91%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I was only there for a couple of nights, but everyone was very friendly. There was a very outgoing atmosphere at the hostel. Overall, I would recommend this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Kyle USA
  • As is likely to be the case with hostels, a lot of your experience depends on who's in the room with you. I was fortunate to have a generally good group for most of my stay, with the exception of one night, which was mediocre. Having said that, the place was good, solid. As advertised, and what you see is what you get. Great location near the beach. Clean sheets provided, and generally clean room. kitchen facilities are convenient. Internet and food onsite. Common facilities are functional.
  • 77%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »