See other Honolulu properties

Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel

2556 Lemon Rd, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 82% from 20 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel did not have lockers as stated on their webpage when we carefully complained about this when we arrived the staff told us to get a room at a different place.. Not very friendly. The atmoshere in general is very steril and unpersonal and the only good thing about this place is its location which is great.
  • 40%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Jonathan Sweden
  • The staff was friendly attentive, and gave us a nice upgrade. When I had a problem with a roommate, the staff was flexible and helpful and helped me change rooms.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Thomas USA
  • I'm only stayed there for two nights, but it's a good place to stay, and really affordable. It's very clean , the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative I have really is that the beds are really shakey. I was on the top bunk, and every time I moved, the whole bed moved.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2014 David Canada
  • In the night it is sometimes very loud. There is only one bathroom and only one aircon for eight people.
  • 69%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Brigitte Germany
  • Almost all of the staff are amazing, super friendly, with one or two exceptions. The atmosphere here is great, love the common area--great for watching the world cup. Only complaints would be that there are no lockers in the last building. And for other buildings you have to pay 25 cents per use!
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Omar Pakistan
  • I already wrote a glowing report. My granddaughter was quite happy.
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2014 Pamela USA
  • An average hostel in Waikiki. Apparently they don't clean very often. So you're either lucky that they have just cleaned or not. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Waikiki beach is very close, but the hostel is located just at the far end of it. It is an ok stay for the money.
  • 63%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I wish I was still there so bad. I enjoyed my experience tremendously at Waikiki beachside hostel. I will return eventually , and will most likely be crashing here again.
  • 83%
  • 21 May 2014 Ben USA
  • Excellent location. You can walk to Waikiki Beach and also rent bikes and scooters from downstairs. The dorms are a bit crowded and having only a bathroom for 8 people can be a problem. The good part is that you can cook inside the room and you also have a fridge. It is a big hostel, so the atmosphere suffers a bit because of this but i still met some cool people there.
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Alexandru Romania
  • very good place to stay
  • 91%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Stefan Bulgaria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »