See other Los Angeles properties

Hollywood Youth Hostel

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.5km

Rating: 62% from 24 reviews

  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 59%Staff
  • 55%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is sooo good, you can see the hostel from Hollywood Highland station. There're a lot of people around the station, so I think it's quite safe. Most of the staffs are nice too, but a guy who works there at night asked us our room number when we were about to go into the hostel, but we didn't know him, we didn't want to tell him of course. You should tell us your name or something first, not everyone knows that you're the security. Rooms and bathrooms are ok :)
  • 80%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Moegi Japan
  • One of the staffs was very unkind and due to his fault, our party had a trouble about booking fee. We were nearly expelled because hostel member insisted we didn't pay for one night that never be a truth. Even more, my party overpaid. We knew the fact later and paid back finally, but it was awful. I will not go this hostel again.
  • 51%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Good standard hostel, worth what you pay. Place is clean, facilities and bedrooms are nice and staff are helpful. Great location for Hollywood, with it being right on the Boulevard, buses and subways go really close. Only downside is Hollywood is quite a way away from other places (e.g. Santa Monica 1.5hr bus ride away).
  • 80%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Samantha New Zealand
  • Worst atention ever.
  • 40%
  • 16 Jan 2014 ariana Argentina
  • You should save money NOW and find another place to stay. The room smelled bad. Staff didnt clean the room, I think they didnt change even bed sheets. It was very noisy and bright outside until 1 or 2am. Shower rooms are so-so but there is no space to put cloths. Staff was also so-so... They were busy to talk with girls. If you cannot find another choice, make sure just to go to sleep. Only the location was excellent.
  • 34%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. They spent more time arguing with each other than looking after the guests. They were very reluctant to provide information. The facilities are basic at best and the rooms are dirty. Also it's not a very fun hostel as they don't host any events. It is cheap and it is in a good location however I would recommend staying at one of the many other hostels in Hollywood.
  • 34%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Joseph
  • I arrived their early about 8.am, but the staff told me that check in time be at 12.So I relaxed around the lounge room and watched some t.v and drank coffee ,By 11 some one had checked me in.They had some interesting students in that hostel too.One form Korea .another from Greece and Germany.It had an international flavor
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 .Michael USA
  • Place had bedbugs. When I went down to tell about them the girl at the counter just gave me rubbing alcohol. We got a new room when I went down the third time and there was a man with her. I don't know if they did anything about the room. All I know is there was another girl staying with me and my friends and she did not follow us to the other room. I would NOT stay here again.
  • 46%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • I loved the location! The staff was helpful whenever I needed. Negative points for me were cleanliness (there was paper on my bed, the showers looked nasty), beds were not comfortable at all, lack of ac in the rooms, wi-fi not working in the room (I had to use the common area connection and the signal was really bad), and the fact that the storage room is basically opened for everybody, I think there should be a locker or something at the door. Other than that, it was fine for 1 night!
  • 69%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Guys, I am a backpacker and I've slept many different and VERY CHEAP hostels, motels, sometimes hotels but I've NEVER seen any hostel like that ! It is HORRIBLE ! I couldn't take couple of pictures from my room but my room and MY BED is so DIRTY ! It wasn't clean ! Hotel staff was so loud at 4 AM !!! For hostels.com, it is a SHAME to publish their advertisement. I wish, I could send them to this hotel to see their condition. PLEASE DO NOT GO THIS HOSTEL IF YOU HAVE RESPECT FOR YOURSELF !
  • 34%
  • 08 Jun 2013 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »