See other Los Angeles properties

Hollywood Youth Hostel

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.5km

Rating: 64% from 16 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 61%Staff
  • 52%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to anyone. The location is unbeatable.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Emily USA
  • Great staff, great location!
  • 80%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Amir
  • Being a hostel on Hollywood Blvd is difficult, but this hostel could have had much more security than bathroom locks on the hostel doors. My room had coins and trash on the floor when I arrived. The hostel manager, Peter, hit on me for my first couple of days at the hostel even after I told him that I'm gay; sexism, misogyny, homophobia. One of his employees, Elias, broke into my friend's room and watched her sleep for a while; unprofessional, lack of respect for customers, general creepiness.
  • 60%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Molly USA
  • Very cool hostel, cool staff and the location is perfect, the atmosphere is like a party but it's enough quiet to sleep.
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Elodie France
  • The location is sooo good, you can see the hostel from Hollywood Highland station. There're a lot of people around the station, so I think it's quite safe. Most of the staffs are nice too, but a guy who works there at night asked us our room number when we were about to go into the hostel, but we didn't know him, we didn't want to tell him of course. You should tell us your name or something first, not everyone knows that you're the security. Rooms and bathrooms are ok :)
  • 80%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Moegi Japan
  • One of the staffs was very unkind and due to his fault, our party had a trouble about booking fee. We were nearly expelled because hostel member insisted we didn't pay for one night that never be a truth. Even more, my party overpaid. We knew the fact later and paid back finally, but it was awful. I will not go this hostel again.
  • 51%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Good standard hostel, worth what you pay. Place is clean, facilities and bedrooms are nice and staff are helpful. Great location for Hollywood, with it being right on the Boulevard, buses and subways go really close. Only downside is Hollywood is quite a way away from other places (e.g. Santa Monica 1.5hr bus ride away).
  • 80%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Samantha New Zealand
  • Worst atention ever.
  • 40%
  • 16 Jan 2014 ariana Argentina
  • You should save money NOW and find another place to stay. The room smelled bad. Staff didnt clean the room, I think they didnt change even bed sheets. It was very noisy and bright outside until 1 or 2am. Shower rooms are so-so but there is no space to put cloths. Staff was also so-so... They were busy to talk with girls. If you cannot find another choice, make sure just to go to sleep. Only the location was excellent.
  • 34%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. They spent more time arguing with each other than looking after the guests. They were very reluctant to provide information. The facilities are basic at best and the rooms are dirty. Also it's not a very fun hostel as they don't host any events. It is cheap and it is in a good location however I would recommend staying at one of the many other hostels in Hollywood.
  • 34%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Joseph
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »