See other Los Angeles properties

Hollywood Youth Hostel

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.5km

Rating: 76% from 33 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a really good stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the place is right in front of the metro so everything is super easy to get to and the free pancakes are an awesome idea! The only bad thing would have been the loud music that plays past midnight every night.
  • 80%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel is in a great location for all things Hollywood. However the manager was on a break when I arrived and other staff didn't know how to check people in, so a few of us waited around half an hour before we could head up to our rooms. The rooms are ok, there are lockers which you have to pay to use (so make sure you have some quarters). Overall the place wasn't too bad and perfect for the one night that I needed.
  • 77%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Naomi Australia
  • Didn't feel secure at all, apparently there was a guy in the entrance smoking crack the night I arrived! The storage room with left luggage was kept unlocked which didn't make me feel very safe leaving it there. The showers and toilets were dirty, non lifts either. Have to pay a quarter for every time you use the locker in the room. Overall I was rather unimpressed. Booked it mainly bexause of the location however there was lots of homeless and generally dodgy individuals roaming the streets.
  • 54%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Silvia Slovakia
  • The location is great! Very energetic staff who are willing to help with whatever you may need
  • 97%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Daniel New Zealand
  • great! but needs air conditioning!
  • 86%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous
  • If was very hot and staff were unhelpful at the desk. Good atmosphere.
  • 46%
  • 29 Aug 2014 kate England
  • This hostel is a great place for young people! Its really easy to get to know others thanks to great public areas. The staff was really helpfull and gave me some good tipa! And the location was awesome right on hollywood blvd!
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Staff are pretty miserable really don't seem like they want to be there at all. I was 15 minutes late for check out after already asking if I could have some leniency but was refused the deposit which was only $10 but just that attitude really put me off my stay. The location is great rooms okay but smell pretty foul.
  • 63%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Kate Australia
  • This hostel was amazing!!! The location is awesome! When you step outside you are directly on the best part of Hollywood Blv. The atmosphere was great because of all the nice people and the staff is just great! They always help you out, whenever you need help and they are very friendly. The bathrooms,dorms and common rooms are clean and the facilities are pretty cool! Since it costs less than most hostels, it is a great value for money. We had the best time! Thanks a lot! :) Julia & Kathrin
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Kathrin
  • Tranportation and Location are unbeatable! The staff and volunteers were very friendly and welcoming. There are quite a few activities at the hostel. Comedy night was superb so was pizza night. The pub crawls and tours were fun. is excellent is easy going easy to get to transit is superb lots of events is it great world premier to Planes Fire and Rescue just opening right outside. The environment is fantastic, so is cozy. Chris, Alies, Mamy, Simona, Carla, Pete, Kossi and the crew are chill.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous American
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »