See other Los Angeles properties

Hollywood and Highland Hostel and Hotel

70381/2 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.7km

Rating: 69% from 12 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I have stayed here twice only days apart. This was the second time.The first time it was very quiet and not many guests. Very relaxed. The second there were a lot more people around and the atmosphere was a lot better! The staff were lovely the first time, but the second there was a guy with a hat which always covers his eyes (he was there the first time too) who was so rude. He was vile to me and other guests. I was not the only guest to mention his attitude. Everyone else was lovely though!
  • 83%
  • 23 May 2016 Rachel England
  • I have stayed here twice only days apart. The first time it was very quiet and not many guests. Very relaxed. The second there were a lot more people around and the atmosphere was a lot better! The staff were lovely the first time, but the second there was a guy with a hat which always covers his eyes (he was there the first time too) who was so rude. He was vile to me and other guests. I was not the only guest to mention his attitude. Everyone else was lovely though!
  • 83%
  • 18 May 2016 Rachel England
  • The staff were very rude and disrespectful towards me throughout my stay. The manager, a big tall Black guy roams the hall frequently and is always flirting with the female guests there. When I went to add another night to my stay, I gave them $45 but on my receipt, it showed that I had only paid $35. When I brought it to the manager's attention, he immediately went into defense mode and started shouting at me threatening to kick me out . If you like being mistreated and harassed, stay here.
  • 20%
  • 28 Feb 2016 Danielle
  • Location is directly on Hollywood Boulevard and close to subway. Staff were partly rude, partly very nice. Cleaner put random dirty clothes she found on the bathroom floor on my bed and the blankets I was given had lots of hair on them. The place was super cold and drafty, the front door stayed open during the day so strangers sometimes walked in and took a look around. Breakfast encompassed different cereals, toast and sometimes waffles to heat up yourself.
  • 49%
  • 09 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • We were very disappointed in the hostel. There was carpet everywhere and it had dark black stains on it, maybe mold? It smelled bad, the place was in bad condition. Our room had three bunk beds, and squeeked every time one of us moved. The matress over mine had wholes everywhere, i was scared that something would fall on me while sleeping. The staff who welcomed us was very nice and showed us around. There were people who seemed to be living there, bad vibes in general. I do not recommend....
  • 43%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Rachida Canada
  • we didn't get additional toilet paper and there was no soap.
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Anna Poland
  • Really enjoyed my stay in this hostel! The staff was so friendly and nice, and the location is just great! It is near lots of famous places, and metro station is almost next door! Met very nice people there. Will definitely come back when I have a chance!
  • 89%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous
  • Excellent location, not a great hostel but it was what I needed for one night stay.
  • 66%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel. It wasn't to bad. I expected for towels to be provided atleast & hand soap, neither was. Its ok if you just want to travel & need some where to crash w| friends or by yourself. Its no Holiday Inn but its decent. TThe beds were very squeaky but not bad & pillows need to be updated & fluffy. They were thin & worn out. Overall Id give it a 7/10.
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2015 glennise
  • The good points - Few blocks far from the subway station - Almost the centre of hollywood - The bathroom in the each rooms - The nice and kind workers The bad points - The waving double bed - Too old stuffs that need to be fixed up - The plugs far from the beds that needs to be used with extension cords -- I don't know and not sure if LA is an expensive city though, it was type of more expensive hostel than the others that I've been staying in.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »