See other Melbourne properties

Home at The Mansion

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 81% from 22 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • GREAT STAFF ! LOCATION IS JUST A SHORT WALK FROM THE FREETRAM ! ACCOMADATIONS ARE GOOD. TRAVELER'S ABOUND FROM ALL OVER. THIS HOSTEL TENDS TO STAY FULL SO BOOK EARLY.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • hostel located close to the city center
  • 69%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • Good: Helpful staff Free myki card rental Close to tram and train station Cons: Hostel facilities looking very tired No hooks in rooms Floors squeak with lightest step Tv room and kitchen/dining is small Garden curfew hours not enforced Road noise (beyond their control) I've stayed in much better hostels at this price point
  • 57%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • First hostel I've ever stayed at. Thoroughly enjoyed it
  • 89%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Stuart USA
  • Nice hostel. Huge, but really clean and well maintained.
  • 80%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • Plenty of long-termers here which contributes to the not so good atmosphere, but excellent staff and location.
  • 74%
  • 13 Sep 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • the hostel was very good, nice rooms, comparing to other hostels is Australia there were many plugs in the room. the toilets and showers were mixed boys-girls and there wasn't enough of them.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Israel
  • I stayed at this hostel for just over a month. During my stay I met some amazing people and made some great memories. Unfortunately, the whole experience was tainted by the management of the hostel and his attitude towards the people stay there. He has grown bitter and angered by a few minor incidents, resulting in the stay feeling more like a school trip than a holiday. This ruins the atmosphere of what could be an excellent hostel.
  • 54%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Ruby England
  • The hostel is in a good location - Melbourne is super walkable or you can take the free tram (the stop is a really short walk away). The staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a private room which was small but sufficient. The bathrooms are decently clean and the cleaning staff vacuum and clean every day. The heater that's provided in the room isn't particularly efficient so it can get pretty chilly. Only minor complaint is that Wi-fi/internet is only available for a fee.
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice and helpful reception, basically polite and friendly people living there. Clean and tidy. But the floor is noisy and I find it difficult to keep quiet when i walk around. If you have heavy luggage, it's time for you to practice to take it up stairs xp
  • 77%
  • 22 May 2013 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »