See other Kapaa properties

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 79% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff were very helpful with local information. Great location!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Tim USA
  • Mahalo for everything....it was a great time again...I love the spirit at this place.....and the staff!!!! Look forward too come back soon.
  • 94%
  • 17 May 2014 Imhof Switzerland
  • The staff is nor so frindly. After 10pm you can't sit outside at the hostel and you have to go. I had in my bed BEDBUGS! You can take for free snorkel equitment that's cool. The hostel is close to the beach. It's better if you have a car on kauai or met other people with a car.
  • 66%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Ronja Switzerland
  • Good place to stay, good located, nice town.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Very clean place
  • 97%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Good value and clean place. Not too far away from the airport. Many restaurants and health food store close by the hostel.
  • 80%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Mabel Canada
  • Very clean kitchen and bathrooms. Extra 13.5% local tax is charged that is not mentioned on Hostels.com
  • 77%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • great location in Kapaa. Very close to restaurants, grocery stores and a beach (not the best beach). Kapaa is midpiont between North & South Kauai & airport. Pros: Organized kitchen with areas for hostel stayers food. The free lockers in the room is a plus if you have a combination lock. Free wifi & coffee in morning Cons: The common area closes at 10pm and everyone is kicked out. Usually there are quiet hours, but common areas are open. No free local calls.Internet shuts 11-1.
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Owners have very strict rules. Not allowed on property if you have checked out/not checked in. Wifi, large kitchen, and personal lockers (bring your own lock) available. Beds are very good, but large dorms, with only 1 small bathroom. Close to the beach and the little centre of kapa'a. Like on everywhere on Kauai, roosters crow day and night. Car is needed to get around the island. Good hostel, nothing special.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »