See other Madrid properties

Hostal Santillan

Avda. Gran V�a, 64. 8� D, 28013, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 89% from 16 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed for 1 night and I had no problems at all. The room was clean but basic. However, it was very good value for the price I paid. The staff were very friendly. The location is excellent - right in the center of Madrid. If I was going to Madrid again, I would definitely return to this hostal.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Sean Ireland
  • Fantastic location, right on Gran Via! The only problem we had was that we didn't have air conditioning, but they provided a fan.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • My friend and I had really a nice stay here, everything is perfect. It was the first time for my friend to live in a hostel, she said it's just like a hotel. The reception was really friendly and considerate. We booked a double bed private room with own bathroom, very clean. And very quiet at night, if you're looking for some place to have a good rest, I would definitely recommend Santillan.
  • 20%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • Lovely place. Will definitely book there again if traveling Madrid by myself.
  • 91%
  • 28 May 2014 Britta Germany
  • The hostel seemed more like a really nice hotel than a hostel. But I did have a single room which suited me just perfectly. The hostel was centrally located, very clean and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2014 Marcus USA
  • LOVED this place. People were friendly, place was adorable, clean, inexpensive, and in a great location. Definitely recommended!
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Aseel USA
  • The location is amazing. Right on Grand Via with metro stops, shopping and Plaza Mayor/Plaza del Sol in walking distance. Reception didn't speak English but everything was perfectly explained on paper and she did the best she could, was very friendly and nice. Definitely recommend!
  • 94%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Sarah USA
  • I loved this hostal and location. It was an easy walk to museums, restaurants etc. I took an airport bus to plaza cibeles and a taxi because. Of my luggage. One could easily walk from Cibeles to the hostal. Once at number 64 I rang the bell and they unlocked the big door. Push IN and this door is heavy. There is an elevator to 8 th floor and reception. My room was spotlessly clean and cozy. There is no kitchen but you have so many restaurants close by. It is a small hotel. Lovely
  • 97%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I am definitely going back there. Excellent location, staff, and room! The building is also very charming.
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 mario Brazil
  • Central location, they were very nice and helpful on where to visit. No air conditioning, but there were fans so that worked. Clean and quite in a charming building. Great stay for your money.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Dominique Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »