See other Madrid properties

Hostal Santillan

Avda. Gran V�a, 64. 8� D, 28013, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 88% from 18 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location of the hostel is great. Easy walks to Opera area and Del Sol. Also easy access to Metro. Staff was great on check in and check out - the only times I interacted with them. I'm a solo traveler in my early 50s and booked a private room with own bath. The accommodations are just what you need - clean, safe and comfortable. For those in the same age group as myself, I did see others close to my age. This is on off season, middle of November, so could be different during peak.
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay. Very kind and helpful. Great location!
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Leah USA
  • The location is very good, on one of the main streets of Madrid, along a couple of metro stops. The rooms were veryclean and the staff were so very helpful! I would absolutely stay here again when I return to Madrid.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • I stayed for 1 night and I had no problems at all. The room was clean but basic. However, it was very good value for the price I paid. The staff were very friendly. The location is excellent - right in the center of Madrid. If I was going to Madrid again, I would definitely return to this hostal.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Sean Ireland
  • Fantastic location, right on Gran Via! The only problem we had was that we didn't have air conditioning, but they provided a fan.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • My friend and I had really a nice stay here, everything is perfect. It was the first time for my friend to live in a hostel, she said it's just like a hotel. The reception was really friendly and considerate. We booked a double bed private room with own bathroom, very clean. And very quiet at night, if you're looking for some place to have a good rest, I would definitely recommend Santillan.
  • 20%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • Lovely place. Will definitely book there again if traveling Madrid by myself.
  • 91%
  • 28 May 2014 Britta Germany
  • The hostel seemed more like a really nice hotel than a hostel. But I did have a single room which suited me just perfectly. The hostel was centrally located, very clean and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2014 Marcus USA
  • LOVED this place. People were friendly, place was adorable, clean, inexpensive, and in a great location. Definitely recommended!
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Aseel USA
  • The location is amazing. Right on Grand Via with metro stops, shopping and Plaza Mayor/Plaza del Sol in walking distance. Reception didn't speak English but everything was perfectly explained on paper and she did the best she could, was very friendly and nice. Definitely recommend!
  • 94%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Sarah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »