See other Rome properties

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 82% from 38 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've tried over 10 hostels in Rome over the years and this is by far the best. I've been there 5 times. The staff (Ovens, PJ, JP, etc) are all very professional and friendly. The common areas are big and spacious.
  • 100%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Really anything in this hostel costs extra. Eg the breackfast is 4 Euros and I really do not see why. There are only lights in the middle of the room so you go to bed when the last person in your room does and you wake up with the earliest riser. Overall the hostel was really ok, the location was quite good and the staff was more or less friendly. I just do not feel that the price per bed was justified.
  • 51%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Caroline Germany
  • Above average. Close to Termini, good facilities, good parties. The only disappointment was lack of lockers - they had them but in order to use them you would have to spend 5 euros for a lock, you can't borrow it from them, only buy.
  • 89%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Front desk staff was a little on the impersonal side (not unfriendly either, just not especially warm). Very clean, very convenient to the Roma Termini and the metro. Only stayed one night, so didn't try the showers. Didn't try breakfast either, although I'm betting for 4 euros you could do a lot better at one of the local cafes. Excellent security, with lockers in each room (bring your own padlock) and keycard locks on all the doors. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again!
  • 94%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Clarence USA
  • This hostel was great in terms of location. It is 5 min walk away from the termini station. Yet, around the termini station was filthy and I even saw a rat on the street. OMG! Some part of the street was so dirty and got disappointed in the first night in Rome. Still, Roma was amazing as its fame after I explored the main attractions and all the beautiful buildings and remains. The staff was mostly Pilipinos and they were very kind and friendly. The facilities and the breakfast were not bad.
  • 86%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Nice staff, lots of information, breakkfast 4 euros, lots of snacks and sdrinks in the machines. Washing facilities. centrally located. Would book this hostel again. My bed was not very good!!
  • 86%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Rozemarie Netherlands
  • Good location and price is valuable. The staffs were very nice to me and they provide a map for tourists.
  • 91%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Everything was just excellent :)
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Muhammad Ali Pakistan
  • Although the hostel is very close to Termini and 15 minutes to Colosseum, the street is dirty and stinky. I didn't feel safe and I wouldn't recommend a girl walk along there. The hostel itself is fine, pretty clean.
  • 60%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • The tram/major roadway is less than a block away, but I guess short of relocating you can't do much about it.
  • 97%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Benjamin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »