See other Rome properties

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 83% from 42 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great facilities, although the kitchen was 3 floors away from my dorm. Also no where to store food in the kitchen except in the fridge. Very clean bathrooms and dorms. Staff did their job and were friendly enough. Noisy at night, mostly traffic and was in a bit of a dodgy neighborhood. Heaps close to Roma Termini, but a little far to walk from the main attractions.
  • 74%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • they give you 1 sheet and pillows rock hard . Plus they don't change blanket on bed they just fold it up for the next person they don't change the blue cover at all got bed bugs out of it .over all area is bad I got followed and money stolen . Kitchen was. No good not enough pans and plates and stuff over all yucky
  • 34%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Tina Australia
  • This hostel is in a fantastic location. It's very close to Termini Station and is around a lot of stores and restaurants. Our experience was great there. We met interesting people and enjoyed our holiday. We would stay there again
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Rena and Darren Canada
  • Very close to Termini which was really handy! Rooms are clean and have air-con which was much needed for a Roman summer. Staff are friendly. The only thing that could be improved is the wi-fi which was not very good.
  • 91%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very clean spacious rooms, great air conditioning which is a must for Rome in July. Staff was average. Location was in what I would think is the international district. Sketchy walking alone at night. About 15-20 minute walk from the nearest tourist attraction. Convenient next to train station! 4euro breakfast that I never even tried.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is one of the best I have stayed in..really friendly staff and excellent service
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous India
  • Excellent value for money. The place is somewhat old, but clean and well-located, and the staff is super friendly. Definitely needs new showers, as many of the ones they have splash the water to different directions, so you have to keep aiming at the thickest water gush, but I'd still stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 07 Jul 2014 claudia Brazil
  • Quite nice hostel very close to Roma Termini station and not too far from major sights. The room was quite large and seemed to have enough outlets for everyone. The showers down the hall were clean and there were enough of them that I never had to wait. The breakfast (an extra €4) wasn't very good, and staff could be hit-or-miss: a few were extremely nice and friendly, while others were downright rude. You have to log in to wifi several times to get it to work, which was annoying.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean facilities, and very friendly staff. The rooms very very spacious, but the shared hall bathrooms were tiny and sometimes dirty. Although I can imagine it's hard to keep it constantly spotless with so much traffic throughout the day. I recommend skipping the breakfast they provide. No pesty bugs in my room. I booked a mixed dorm and when I arrived they put me in an all female dorm, so that was a pleasant surprise. Both the young and old stayed here, great for families and backpackers.
  • 86%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very good and convenient location. Just five minutes from the train station and you can still put your luggage there after your check out. The rest things are just average.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Yang China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »