See other Rome properties

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 81% from 41 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • On the second night I got back tot he hostel and there wasn't a clean bed for me to sleep in, but the guy at the front dest was very helpful and got clean sheets and took away the dirty ones and got it all sorted out pretty quickly. Bathrooms were not that clean, but you kind of have to expect that at a hostel. Overall the other people staying there were very nice.
  • 63%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location. Friendly staff. Good value for the money.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very good.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous
  • There were not stuffs enough in the kitchen. The bathroom was cold and dirty. The shower was not warm! There were no heats in the hallways also.
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Alessandro Downtown is situated right by the Termini Station, which means it is within walking distance to almost all the most popular sights in Rome. Around the hostel you can find shops, bars, cafes and everything you need. The rooms are very large and comfortable and you have large common areas. The hostel also offers free sangria, chips etc in the evening, which makes it easy to get to know people here. I highly recommend staying here.
  • 86%
  • 04 Dec 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Very good hostel in a general way.
  • 94%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Victor Brazil
  • I like the free cocktails at night (sangria and chips). the hotel staff were very helpful. from the reception to the kitchen to the room section.
  • 63%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Floro Philippines
  • Great facilities, although the kitchen was 3 floors away from my dorm. Also no where to store food in the kitchen except in the fridge. Very clean bathrooms and dorms. Staff did their job and were friendly enough. Noisy at night, mostly traffic and was in a bit of a dodgy neighborhood. Heaps close to Roma Termini, but a little far to walk from the main attractions.
  • 74%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • they give you 1 sheet and pillows rock hard . Plus they don't change blanket on bed they just fold it up for the next person they don't change the blue cover at all got bed bugs out of it .over all area is bad I got followed and money stolen . Kitchen was. No good not enough pans and plates and stuff over all yucky
  • 34%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Tina Australia
  • This hostel is in a fantastic location. It's very close to Termini Station and is around a lot of stores and restaurants. Our experience was great there. We met interesting people and enjoyed our holiday. We would stay there again
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Rena and Darren Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »