See other Rome properties

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 78% from 25 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms are big and comfortable.
  • 86%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Alessandro downtown was in really good location, the neighbourhood was in my opinion safe and alright restaurants near. Also the convenient store was quite close!
  • 89%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • The air conditioner was broken both nights I stayed there and it was VERY HOT! easy to get places and very close to the train station
  • 69%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed in a twin private with ensuite. Nice room with A/C and decent wifi connectivity. Overall, a very good hostel and would stay there again. The A/C didn't really work that well but that may have been my fault and I didn't bother to raise it with staff. The hostel offers many group activities (nights out, drinks in common areas) so great if you are looking for something social. Rooms were surprising well presented for a hostel. Close to train station making it easy to get to main attractions.
  • 89%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Nathan Australia
  • This hostel was pretty good, it had good facilities for the kitchen. You were able to cook a decent meal with the utensils and pans that were available. The wifi was okay, and they had computer with internet access when the wifi was down. They have lockers in the room for security of your stuff. Also when you checkout you can keep your stuff in a locker until 5 pm by paying 2 euros. The room also had air conditioner which is a very good thing in the summer. It's also 5 mins fr the Termini.
  • 86%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostile was okay on the cleanliness scale given the price; however, the service was terrible. First, their change machine did not work. When I put a €10 in the machine it only gave me €5 in change and the desk people did not refund me for the mistake. Second, I used their lockers where you must pay €2 for 12 hours of storage and the machine locked on me only after 9 hours where I had to pay an extra €2 to open it. The worker behind the desk also did little to help me with the situation.
  • 40%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was very clean and had plenty of space in the rooms. Cleaning started very early in the day (much earlier than stated) so you had to be up and out. The WiFi wouldn't stay connected, you kept having to recconect. Overall a good experience.
  • 74%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • On the second night I got back tot he hostel and there wasn't a clean bed for me to sleep in, but the guy at the front dest was very helpful and got clean sheets and took away the dirty ones and got it all sorted out pretty quickly. Bathrooms were not that clean, but you kind of have to expect that at a hostel. Overall the other people staying there were very nice.
  • 63%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location. Friendly staff. Good value for the money.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very good.
  • 94%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »