See other Rome properties

Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 82% from 30 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The front staff was really nice and there is a nice bar set up inside and roof bars set up sporadically during the week. Good vibes inside and very conveniently located near Termini train station that can connect you anywhere quickly (or you can even walked to most places). The lines at the hostel bar can be a bit long, especially when you are taking part in an all-you-can-drink. Another bartender would help the situation. Other than that, it was great.
  • 86%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Daniel USA
  • Great hostel, it's in a great location (walking distance to the coliseum) the rooms are clean, the staff is always willing to help. Only downfall is there is no kitchen or breakfast included if you're on a tight budget.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was a nice hostel with a cool roof-top bar. You aren't in the city center though, but it is easily walkable from where you are. Close to the train/bus station, and easy to get to and from the airport. Dinner suggestions were not very good,and restaurants close by were not that great. Beds are a little old and loose, and they have lockers that you will need a lock for. Not a lot of air flow. Great in room bathrooms with good water pressure and hot water. Staff wasn't overly friendly.
  • 71%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One thing i want to suggest, connection with all the busses going to airport. Like selling a ticket for the buses too. Is less stress for the guest. Like i'ved experience, long line to get the buss ticket and it takes times to the travellers. I'm planning to take 4:30 am buss going to airport, but because of the long line in the ticket boot. I missed the buss at 4:30. I'ved been in the line going to ticket boot 20mins.before 4:30, still i missed the buss.
  • 86%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Priscilla Philippines
  • I didn't enjoy the fact that the hostel itself was seperate from the main check-in building because I felt that if something did go wrong we weren't close enough. Also, there should be a backup router for the wifi. The whole time I was there I didn't have wifi in my room because it was down making it inconvenient trying to plan, talk with family and my husband while staying in my room. Overall though I enjoyed everything else. You have to pay for the breakfast but I think it's a good investment.
  • 83%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Issa USA
  • The cleanliness staff behavior were bad! On our first night I was given bedsheets covered in crusted stains. When I brought them to the reception, the staff treated me as a burden. They threw a fit and insulted me in Italian. The hostel's key-card system rarely works. We needed help getting in. Between the two of us traveling we were only allowed one key. The bathrooms were dirty,with faulty taps. The location is great, right off the main Termini station. But I wouldn't stay here again.
  • 43%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Karl Norway
  • It was a good place that provided me with a bed and a nice bathroom. The staff was very friendly, and were always available. I would recommend it for people trying to spend as little as possible, while at the same time, looking for a place that isn't disgusting.
  • 74%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was very pleasant stay. I like the location, atmosphere and it's great value for money. What I recomend is to create more space for hanging clothes and put more chairs in the room (not 1 for 8-). And the lockers: you should have your own or buy it. Other things I really like, the party was great, the staff helps you and aswer questions, facilities for the hostel are also good. And it's situated 10 minutes from train station, but on the calm street.
  • 83%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • The pub crawl was really fun!!!
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Brenna USA
  • if there were lockers in the room it would have been better and the rooms are very small.
  • 86%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Ecuador
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »