See other Paris properties

Hostel Blue Planet

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 65% from 38 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • no internet!!! breakfast sucks!
  • 71%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Gevorg Armenia
  • The absolute worst hostel I've ever been too and the customer service is terrible.
  • 31%
  • 05 Apr 2014 justin USA
  • The only positive to this place was that it was near the train station. The staff was incredibly rude and spoke to me like I was an idiot. The walls are paper thin so I heard everyone coming and going, the atmosphere was dark terrible, and there was never any hot water for showers no matter what time of day. There is no wifi and the only internet is on desktop computers, which you have to pay for. Ripoff.
  • 34%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Dana USA
  • A wifi connection because it's incredible that nowadays there is still no wifi even in the rooms. Il faut une connéction wifi c'est unsoutenable que aujourd'hui il y a encore un auberge dans lesquel il n'y a pas de wifi dans les chambres.
  • 69%
  • 19 Mar 2014 ROSSELLA Italy
  • Im sorry to tell you, if you pick this hostel over others with almost the same price (as Woodstock for example) then you might make a big mistake, you don´t get your own key, you have to leave it a the desk and ask for it over and over, at its really annoying. Also, the say the give you breakfast but its only a tiny cup of coffee and a cold sandwich you have to take out from the machines downstairs, and also, you have to ask for coins at the front desk to do so, and they didnt say so!
  • 51%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Apesar de termos achado a atmosfera um pouco estranha inicialmente, ficamos bem acomodadas e em segurança. O atendimento foi bom e o café da manhã também.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Marli Brazil
  • Blue Planet was well worth it for the price, especially if all you're looking for is a place to sleep at night and shower in the morning. You're in Paris after all-you should be spending as little time as possible inside! The only difficult parts: each room only had one power outlet & one key to be shared between four roommates (so if one had already taken it, you had to knock and wait for someone to-hopefully-open the door). I would definitely recommend it though, especially if money is tight.
  • 80%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We signed up for a five person room and there were only 4 of us, which was nice. The hostel is in a nice part of town right next to a metro stop and within walking distance of the Bastille. We traveled as 2 women and felt safe coming back at night. Facilities were basic and fine. The free breakfast is coffee from a machine and pastries from a vending machine.
  • 71%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Bonnie USA
  • Except for the cheap price and convenient location, no good points to be given here
  • 54%
  • 18 Sep 2013 ying China
  • The attitude of the staffs there were so bad. They were not helpful when you wanted to ask them for help, except asking for direction. Also, there is no wifi in the hostel, which is very important to travellers who need to search for hotels/hostels and transportation, such as train or bus, for their next destinations!! You could only pay 2 euro for half hour or 4 euro for one hour for the Internet access by using their own computers. However, the speed of the Internet was so slow! It just sucks!
  • 46%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »