See other Paris properties

Hostel Blue Planet

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 50% from 42 reviews

  • 43%Atmosphere
  • 49%Staff
  • 54%Security
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 53%Value for money
  • 39%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Maybe it was because I was at a really nice hostel the night before, but I was definitely not impressed with my stay here. For starters, the light in my room didn't work. The toilettes weren't very clean. And breakfast was three tokens that you could use in a vending machine, but hey the coffee was good. I did meet some really nice German girls, though. So, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay, this could be the place for you. But, I'll never stay here again.
  • 57%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • When we got back to the hostel late night, there were a group of local youngsters (gangs) hanging around outside the hostel. One of them tried to steal our wallet. Luckily we prevented the robbery and there was no serious conflict. At the reception of the hostel, the person who worked there didn't show interest at all at what happened in front of his hostel, he didn't want to call the police nor did he offer any help. Instead he said it's not of his concern what's happening outside his hostel.
  • 49%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Timur Belgium
  • No real way to secure belongings. Had to leave building from 11 to 3 every day. WiFi wasn't free. No individual keys for room, had to get key from desk. Just rough all around.
  • 51%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • The best thing about this hostel is the distance to the train station. Downsides include the poor facilities, the 'free wifi' which costs 3 euro per hour, one key per 4 bedroom dorm (ridiculous setup..), and the free breakfast which entails 3 items from a poorly stocked vending machine. Would not recommend this hostel at all.
  • 43%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Paul
  • The staff was not very friendly. Instead of the terrible breakfast, they could have free wi-fi. But this is Paris and the location of the hostel is really convenient, just a few steps from Gare d'Lyon. There is only one toilette and one shower per floor and when I was there, these facilities were not working in my floor. In addition, as I was leaving, there was no water.
  • 57%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Javier Mexico
  • They say there is breakfast but you would never call this a breakfast. It is just coffe from a coffee machine and the same an artificial croissant from a machine. Very poooor!! The rooms were also dirty and some things were stolen from the cloakroom and they could not help us. Never again Hostel Blue Planet!!
  • 29%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anna Poland
  • We only spent one night here, and it was ok as a pit-stop, but I don't think I would go back. Some of the staff were friendly and helpfull,others not so much. The included "breakfast" consisted of coins to a vending machine with sugar coated with sugar and black cofee with some more sugar in it (from a different vending machine). The shower in our room were pulsating between freezing and warm (the second day it was only cold), and the quality of it was bad (couldn't even wash my hair).
  • 60%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Very disorganized: the guy of the reception made a mistake and I was in the bed of other person, so I had to change during my stay and my new bad wasn't even arranged, it was like the last person had left... Bad showers. Spend a little bit more and go to another place.
  • 37%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Luis Felipe Brazil
  • This is the worst hostel. If you want internet you have to pay 3 eur per hour. They don't have personal lockers and they have only one key for the room so I was in the room with four people and we had only one key. We didn't get not even sheets and the bed was dirty. Toilet and shower room stank. On top of everything they kick you out from hostel from 11 until 15 because they are "cleaning". You can't even stay in the lobby.
  • 37%
  • 29 May 2015 Josip Croatia
  • This was the worst hostel I have ever been to. The staff was VERY unhelpful and rude. The "breakfast included" that they offered was coins to a vending machine. There were no outlets in the room, so you could only charge electronics in the common area, which closed from 11-3:30 and again at midnight. This hostel was not accommodating AT ALL and very unpleasant to be in.
  • 37%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Haille USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »