See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 63% from 17 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 57%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I have booked a 5-bed room for me and my 3 friends for one night and showed check-in time as 20.00 but was able to come to hostel only at 23.30 and was very surprised when the guy at the reception told us that our booking was cancelled as we did not come at check-in time despite the pre-payment of %20 of total amount that was charged to my credit card. Guy was seemed unwilling to help us with beds. After some time he agreed to show us some free beds but the room was too bad and we denied to stay
  • 49%
  • 19 Nov 2016 SABIR Turkmenistan
  • Very cold in the rooms!
  • 69%
  • 12 Oct 2016 Anonymous Lithuania
  • Everything's average...and there was a bar man who was rasist...that the only thing annoyed me...
  • 54%
  • 26 Jul 2016 Md Samir Bangladesh
  • The place was quite average. Great wifi connection throughout the hostel even when your downstairs and outside the front door. The common room, the only place you're allowed to smoke and eat, had quite a social atmosphere. So you get to meet a range of people from different countries.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Africa
  • Nice location in beautifull district. Close to central station. Big rooms for mixed doorms.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2016 Anonymous Latvia
  • Everybody was ok. Excepto they didnt say linen was mandatory. So the actual final price is not what you see. Also on the small letter it says about the tax. Hostelworld should make it a rule to publish the full price. It's like I don't care what the hostel expenses are I just want to know final price and no surprises. Specially if you book a lot of things this becomes very tedious to always have to read the small letter for addition money. Other than that the hostel is ok.
  • 66%
  • 16 Jun 2016 Lucia Argentina
  • No locker available for keeping your valuables. The roof of the room is so low that you can't even get up freely. No soap for washing hands even in the bathroom. Very poor
  • 46%
  • 28 May 2016 Anonymous India
  • I made a 10 day trip through Italy and this was the worst place I stayed in. The guy in reception was utterly useless and rude. It feels like they don't clean very often. Don't book this place, not at all worth the money.
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2016 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »