See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 65% from 20 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very cold in the rooms!
  • 69%
  • 12 Oct 2016 Anonymous Lithuania
  • Everything's average...and there was a bar man who was rasist...that the only thing annoyed me...
  • 54%
  • 26 Jul 2016 Md Samir Bangladesh
  • The place was quite average. Great wifi connection throughout the hostel even when your downstairs and outside the front door. The common room, the only place you're allowed to smoke and eat, had quite a social atmosphere. So you get to meet a range of people from different countries.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Africa
  • Nice location in beautifull district. Close to central station. Big rooms for mixed doorms.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2016 Anonymous Latvia
  • Everybody was ok. Excepto they didnt say linen was mandatory. So the actual final price is not what you see. Also on the small letter it says about the tax. Hostelworld should make it a rule to publish the full price. It's like I don't care what the hostel expenses are I just want to know final price and no surprises. Specially if you book a lot of things this becomes very tedious to always have to read the small letter for addition money. Other than that the hostel is ok.
  • 66%
  • 16 Jun 2016 Lucia Argentina
  • No locker available for keeping your valuables. The roof of the room is so low that you can't even get up freely. No soap for washing hands even in the bathroom. Very poor
  • 46%
  • 28 May 2016 Anonymous India
  • I made a 10 day trip through Italy and this was the worst place I stayed in. The guy in reception was utterly useless and rude. It feels like they don't clean very often. Don't book this place, not at all worth the money.
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • The room for 10 people (only girls) was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh as well. I loved the common area, however it would be great to have a microwave. The staff was really helpful and friendly :) big thanks to Alex and his friend Mario! Would definitely choose this hostel again! Although it's a little bit far from the metro (like 10-13 min), but in a very quiet area though, close to a supermarket.
  • 91%
  • 28 Nov 2015 OLga Kazakhstan
  • On the website was a price 10 euro (A non-refundable charge of €2.69 has been billed to your credit card. Upon arrival at your accommodation the balance of €8.71 is payable) but finally I paid 13,10 on site + 2,69 during reservation = 15,79 euro. The bed was wrapped in a plastic bag, and make it sound bad, when I moved at night.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Lukáš
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »