See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 44% from 18 reviews

  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 40%Staff
  • 50%Security
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 48%Location
  • 44%Value for money
  • 45%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The worse hostel in my life. A terrible smell of sweat mixed with dirty clothes and rotten food. Hot and stuffy room. We went to the bathroom, the floor was filthy, looked like a football stadium, a terrible smell and low light without outlet. We decided, we got our money back (lost € 3 by reservation) and went to another Hostel two streets ahead. We paid € 60 in a double room with double bed and private bath and we slept very well with safety and hygiene. Don't ever come here!
  • 40%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • The guy at the desk was kinda rude when we checked in. It's really far from il duomo and the center of the city. Not very clean and no real atmosphere, just a place to crash. And it was hot as balls!!! No AC!!
  • 37%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Shaunak
  • very unconfortable and vary far from Metro,and additionally,it's really difficult to find it. the room are too crowded and the bathroom is not clean. besides,the room is too hot to live in summer,cause the fans are not strong enough,even some room with NO fans...
  • 37%
  • 04 Aug 2015 TING Taiwan
  • There is a city fee 2€ per day which is not included in the final prize.
  • 34%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Martina Czech Republic
  • There are two points to avoid this place to your best efforts: 1. The person at reception was literally rude, impolite, unproperly dressed, unhelpful and disrespectful. I was waiting in front of him around 10 min while he was browing internet before he reacted on my questions. No excuses, no explanations. He did not even try to find a money change for me and asked to revert to his collegue next day even thoug I was leaving at around 4 am and it was complicated.
  • 43%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ukraine
  • 1) The hostel is so far from the city center and all the tourist attractions. 2) A member of the hostel's staff didn't know the basic courtesy words in english like "please" or "thank you". The other one was very kind in spite he don't speaks english and he made for us a great macaroni last night I stayed. 3) The rooms didn't had a key so everyone could go inside. 4) There's not a terrace to stay and it was only possible to smoke in the kitchen. 5) The hotel's got a swead and dirty smell.
  • 29%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • the staff were really really nice, the location is not that good but there's a metro close by, the room was so good, the common area we liked it a lot, and it's so cheap so it's a really good choice, thanks alex!
  • 89%
  • 21 Apr 2015 ana maria
  • hi i had booked through hostels.com and when i arrived to the hostel , he refused to give me the room and said that he had not confirmed anything.its only hostels.com had confirmed my booking not the hostel .so you can walkout from my hostel and go and fine any accamodation by yourself.he didnot even said ( i am sorry).he was a very bad person and think that it was 23:00 in the evening.how difficult for me to find some accamodation at that time.
  • 20%
  • 24 Mar 2015 imran malik Pakistan
  • It is better to sleep on streets than to stay in this worst hostel I ever sen in my life. They don't have heating system. I do not recommend to even think about this hostel...
  • 20%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous Pakistan
  • is ok, but bathroom was'nt clean, not to expensive location near Lambrate ok
  • 66%
  • 01 Nov 2014 izabela Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »