See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 52% from 13 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 53%Staff
  • 50%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 53%Location
  • 56%Value for money
  • 46%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • is ok, but bathroom was'nt clean, not to expensive location near Lambrate ok
  • 66%
  • 01 Nov 2014 izabela Poland
  • Guy at reception barely spoke English, couldn't find my booking at first, and charged 2€ more than I expected (and, of course, also the linen charge). I was very tired and didn't argue. He also had no change but gave me a piece of paper with which I received my change at check-out. The room didn't have keys, anyone who walked into the hostel could've gotten in, and the lockers where too small to fit anything but a few valuables. It was an okay accomodation for one night.
  • 57%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Relana Germany
  • I think that personal is the worst thing the hoatel has.. they are not happy to help you.
  • 49%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • There is no plug in the room, not convenient for phone.
  • 51%
  • 19 May 2014 JIE China
  • Ужасное место. Отношение к людям свинское. Мы приехали группой в 9 человек (было две брони на 3-их и 6-ых персон) , администратор сказал, что прошла только одна бронь на 2 человек, после того как я показал ему распечатку брони, он согласился заселить 3-их. Поскандалив с ним минут 40 мы забили и ушли искать другое место для ночлега. Дело происходило в 4 часа утра(( деньги за бронь пропали, ну и фиг с ними. плохое место. Вообще, удивительно, что этот хостел до сих пор не удалён с booking-а(((
  • 20%
  • 10 May 2014 Kirill Russia
  • 3 nights April 2014. 40€ total. Pros: Nice area, even at night for solo female: 7 min walk to subway that goes to central Milan in 20 min, nearby grocery store, great wifi, helpful staff, clean sheets, no bugs, hot water in the shower, area felt local. Cons: Blankets clean but had stains, water pressure wasn't great, 2 toilets/showers for building (didn't have a problem tho), kitchen/lounge only open from 8a-11p, beds wobbly/close together, lockers were small (wouldn't fit a standard backpack)
  • 74%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good value for money, nice cheap place to stay.
  • 80%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice staff
  • 91%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »