See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 44% from 21 reviews

  • 39%Atmosphere
  • 40%Staff
  • 50%Security
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 47%Location
  • 40%Value for money
  • 43%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • On the website was a price 10 euro (A non-refundable charge of €2.69 has been billed to your credit card. Upon arrival at your accommodation the balance of €8.71 is payable) but finally I paid 13,10 on site + 2,69 during reservation = 15,79 euro. The bed was wrapped in a plastic bag, and make it sound bad, when I moved at night.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Lukáš
  • Staff wasn't as bad as I was expecting. I had a 16-bed dorm but as I went to it I understood that number of beds is more than sth it was supposed to be! Funny and scaring, the dorm was at the end of a long corridor and DIDN'T have any door (Imagine the security). Beds were completely sticking together and I could feel the other one is breathing... . For every individual item I have a horrible story. Such horrible night
  • 29%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Amir Hossein Denmark
  • I'm sorry but my words cannot describe the interesting experience that my friend and I had at this hostel. Good luck to those of you who decide to stay here!
  • 46%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Melissa
  • Having booked this hostel in Milan on we were shocked to find that on arrival at this hostel there was nowhere for us to stay. The hostel owner had managed to double book our room. This was obviously a massive problem, however, what made this problem even greater was the fact that the owner made no effort to find us alternative accommodation (as ANY hostel owner should in these circumstances). Please do not make our mistake and book here (there's no guarantee you'll even get to stay)
  • 29%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Jonathan England
  • The worse hostel in my life. A terrible smell of sweat mixed with dirty clothes and rotten food. Hot and stuffy room. We went to the bathroom, the floor was filthy, looked like a football stadium, a terrible smell and low light without outlet. We decided, we got our money back (lost € 3 by reservation) and went to another Hostel two streets ahead. We paid € 60 in a double room with double bed and private bath and we slept very well with safety and hygiene. Don't ever come here!
  • 40%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • The guy at the desk was kinda rude when we checked in. It's really far from il duomo and the center of the city. Not very clean and no real atmosphere, just a place to crash. And it was hot as balls!!! No AC!!
  • 37%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Shaunak
  • very unconfortable and vary far from Metro,and additionally,it's really difficult to find it. the room are too crowded and the bathroom is not clean. besides,the room is too hot to live in summer,cause the fans are not strong enough,even some room with NO fans...
  • 37%
  • 04 Aug 2015 TING Taiwan
  • There is a city fee 2€ per day which is not included in the final prize.
  • 34%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Martina Czech Republic
  • There are two points to avoid this place to your best efforts: 1. The person at reception was literally rude, impolite, unproperly dressed, unhelpful and disrespectful. I was waiting in front of him around 10 min while he was browing internet before he reacted on my questions. No excuses, no explanations. He did not even try to find a money change for me and asked to revert to his collegue next day even thoug I was leaving at around 4 am and it was complicated.
  • 43%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ukraine
  • 1) The hostel is so far from the city center and all the tourist attractions. 2) A member of the hostel's staff didn't know the basic courtesy words in english like "please" or "thank you". The other one was very kind in spite he don't speaks english and he made for us a great macaroni last night I stayed. 3) The rooms didn't had a key so everyone could go inside. 4) There's not a terrace to stay and it was only possible to smoke in the kitchen. 5) The hotel's got a swead and dirty smell.
  • 29%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »