See other Milan properties

Hostel California

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 52% from 25 reviews

  • 48%Atmosphere
  • 51%Staff
  • 59%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 59%Location
  • 47%Value for money
  • 48%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I made a 10 day trip through Italy and this was the worst place I stayed in. The guy in reception was utterly useless and rude. It feels like they don't clean very often. Don't book this place, not at all worth the money.
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • The room for 10 people (only girls) was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh as well. I loved the common area, however it would be great to have a microwave. The staff was really helpful and friendly :) big thanks to Alex and his friend Mario! Would definitely choose this hostel again! Although it's a little bit far from the metro (like 10-13 min), but in a very quiet area though, close to a supermarket.
  • 91%
  • 28 Nov 2015 OLga Kazakhstan
  • On the website was a price 10 euro (A non-refundable charge of €2.69 has been billed to your credit card. Upon arrival at your accommodation the balance of €8.71 is payable) but finally I paid 13,10 on site + 2,69 during reservation = 15,79 euro. The bed was wrapped in a plastic bag, and make it sound bad, when I moved at night.
  • 60%
  • 31 Oct 2015 Lukáš
  • Staff wasn't as bad as I was expecting. I had a 16-bed dorm but as I went to it I understood that number of beds is more than sth it was supposed to be! Funny and scaring, the dorm was at the end of a long corridor and DIDN'T have any door (Imagine the security). Beds were completely sticking together and I could feel the other one is breathing... . For every individual item I have a horrible story. Such horrible night
  • 29%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Amir Hossein Denmark
  • I'm sorry but my words cannot describe the interesting experience that my friend and I had at this hostel. Good luck to those of you who decide to stay here!
  • 46%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Melissa
  • Having booked this hostel in Milan on hostels.com we were shocked to find that on arrival at this hostel there was nowhere for us to stay. The hostel owner had managed to double book our room. This was obviously a massive problem, however, what made this problem even greater was the fact that the owner made no effort to find us alternative accommodation (as ANY hostel owner should in these circumstances). Please do not make our mistake and book here (there's no guarantee you'll even get to stay)
  • 29%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Jonathan England
  • The worse hostel in my life. A terrible smell of sweat mixed with dirty clothes and rotten food. Hot and stuffy room. We went to the bathroom, the floor was filthy, looked like a football stadium, a terrible smell and low light without outlet. We decided, we got our money back (lost € 3 by reservation) and went to another Hostel two streets ahead. We paid € 60 in a double room with double bed and private bath and we slept very well with safety and hygiene. Don't ever come here!
  • 40%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • The guy at the desk was kinda rude when we checked in. It's really far from il duomo and the center of the city. Not very clean and no real atmosphere, just a place to crash. And it was hot as balls!!! No AC!!
  • 37%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Shaunak
  • very unconfortable and vary far from Metro,and additionally,it's really difficult to find it. the room are too crowded and the bathroom is not clean. besides,the room is too hot to live in summer,cause the fans are not strong enough,even some room with NO fans...
  • 37%
  • 04 Aug 2015 TING Taiwan
  • There is a city fee 2€ per day which is not included in the final prize.
  • 34%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Martina Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »