See other San Jose properties

Hostel Casa del Parque

Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 92% from 18 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you are looking for a safe,kn friendly, charming place to stay, this it, my only qualm is that there are only 2 bathrooms and one shower. So take advantage of them when you get the chance.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Andrew USA
  • The owner and manager are absolutely fantastic. I stayed here for a week in-between travels and starting my studies. The area is great, some very good cafés in the area. The hostel is well maintained and cleaned everyday, they also treat for bugs every week. So no worries about bed bugs. There are two sets of locked gates to get in with cameras to buzzed in. This is a hostel and not a Hilton, but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Matthew USA
  • Great staff! Felt very safe and loved our room! Best coffee I had in all of Costa Rica!
  • 89%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Laura USA
  • Very calm and relaxed place, beautiful garden, very helpful and friendly staff, free coffee and wifi, laundry service (if a little pricey), friendly dog and excellent atmosphere. Not a party place, but perfect for the typical San Jose layover on the way to new adventures. The dorm comes without bunk beds and the room is large enough to make it comfortable even for the ten people it sleeps. Sociable and very polite crowd. The privates are spacious and beautiful, but I only stayed in the dorm.
  • 100%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • Great staff!
  • 89%
  • 20 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Love this place...Great location and staff is wonderful..the building/courtyard is beautiful.. Only strong recommendation is to make smoking prohibited in the back garden/courtyard area...Smoking could be moved outside to the front of the building...couldn't really enjoy the courtyard because of all the smoking..
  • 100%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is in a stunning building, with a delightful garden patio, (only spoiled by tobaco smoke). Reading material of guide books and beautiful art books were enough for me to want to extend my stay. My only quibbles are the insufficient lighting up in the dorm and the lack of frosted glass in the bathroom, otherwise I loved it plus the resident cat!
  • 86%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • The hostel building itself was very nice, loved the back patio and the secure gate up front. However after sending two emails to accept the offer to have their "cab service" pick us up from the airport, I never got a response and so had to get my own cab at the airport. Not a big deal, but it's just courteous to respond to emails. The other only main issue I had is that of 6 light bulbs in our room, only one worked. Consider purchasing light bulbs.
  • 71%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel; clean, secure, convenient to downtown, great value, and friendly knowlegeable owner/operator who was extremely helpful in planning my stay in Costa Rica. Thank you.
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • A very nice and cozy hostel. You just can walk straight into the centre of san jose. A Nice garden where everybody chills at the end of the day!
  • 89%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Jart Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »