See other San Jose properties

Hostel Casa del Parque

Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 91% from 23 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff could be more friendly in my opinion. But they are still willing to help as much as they can. Location is great, close to downtown San Jose. Convenience store is around the corner.
  • 83%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • highly friendly staff, really makes you feel like home. complete with a cat, a dog and a lovely garden. this hostel is going to expand for 7 more beds as of Oct. 2015, expect more people. overall one of the best hostels I have ever been to.
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Yilong Canada
  • If you need a clean quiet place, with lots of space, this is your adress. Very clean also. No real party place. Value for your money
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2015 geert Netherlands
  • This was a beautiful hostel in a charming neighborhood. We felt very safe. We also felt comfortable leaving our belongings at the hostel because of the security and locked gate. The rooms and patio were spacious and clean. The Wifi only worked if you were on the patio though. We stayed in a private room with shared bath, but didn't realize ahead of time that there was only 1 toilet and 1 shower to share with all the people (20+) in the dorm rooms as well. The staff was very helpful!
  • 94%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel. Not only was the location and facilities great but the people you meet there are very friendly. It was a great way to start my trip and I plan on visiting again before it is over.
  • 100%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My first hostel experience was great! The staff was awesome, especially Rodger. He was very helpful and made us feel comfortable during our stay.
  • 100%
  • 17 Aug 2015 mariah USA
  • I liked this hostel; it's not a party hostel, it's more a place to chill out and meet great people. There is a train station nearby, so it can be a bit noisy sometimes, but guests all seem to wake up by 6:00 AM anyway. The kitchen is helpful, but can be crowded at meal time. No breakfast included. The dorm was nice, with regular, comfy beds (no bunk beds) and big lockers. The hostel could use more bathrooms, showers and electric sockets, though. Good location, a short walk from the center.
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • If you are looking for a safe,kn friendly, charming place to stay, this it, my only qualm is that there are only 2 bathrooms and one shower. So take advantage of them when you get the chance.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Andrew USA
  • The owner and manager are absolutely fantastic. I stayed here for a week in-between travels and starting my studies. The area is great, some very good cafés in the area. The hostel is well maintained and cleaned everyday, they also treat for bugs every week. So no worries about bed bugs. There are two sets of locked gates to get in with cameras to buzzed in. This is a hostel and not a Hilton, but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Matthew USA
  • Great staff! Felt very safe and loved our room! Best coffee I had in all of Costa Rica!
  • 89%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Laura USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »