See other San Jose properties

Hostel Casa del Parque

Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 88% from 26 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best hostel I have ever been to! Staff were incredibly friendly and welcomed us with open arms, Roger was willing to answer any questions we had and Grace and Miller took time to show us around during their time off.They took the time to answer our questions and ensured that we had a great time during out stay in San Jose. I am incredibly thankful for their willingness to make my friend and I feel at home and safe in our surroundings. Hostel Casa del Parque felt like a home away from home.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Elizabeth USA
  • One bathroom with a shower upstairs for everyone is not convenient. I understand not much can be done about that, but the windows are not covered so when you take a shower, you are right there for all to see. Eep! The area was relatively quiet, minus the busses honking constantly starting at 5am, but I am sure that happens all over town. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I got a day long tour through their recommendations that was well worth the money. Great for the price, thanks!
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Jennifer USA
  • With an amazing, helpful and friendly taxi driver meeting me upon arrival (arranged by the hostel) I was already off to a great start in Costa Rica! The images of the hostel itself don't do the place justice- it's stunning on the outside and after a quick tour of the facilitities I felt confident and safe in a country I've never visited alone. The door room is pretty clean and with 2 toilets available; Staying in a 10bed door was a lot easier than I anticapted.
  • 97%
  • 23 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • Really good place to stay at : safe, clean, easy to access, shops and taxis around, and nice staff! I enjoyed having a big kitchen, a tv room and a nice backyard full of nice plants ! Worth the price!
  • 86%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Margot France
  • As stated by many, staff is very nice and helpful. The garden is great. I had a private room with shared bathroom. Only 3 bathrooms in entire house to share (private rooms and dorms). I imagine that the dorms can be quite loud as there is no door separating them from the common area. Also, they have big windows with morning sun, so might get hot? I was very satisfied with my room, however. Hostel is in a good location, close to all major sights, ATM and supermarket nearby. Would stay there again
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Kamilla Denmark
  • Great international meeting place. Nice places to relax and socialize.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2016 Peter Canada
  • A good hostel. My only complaint is that there was a streetlight pouring into the dorm room that made it a bit difficult to sleep. A heavy curtain on the window would make it perfect, the common spaces are beautiful!
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Anonymous India
  • Thank You very much, we really enjoyed our stay ! Keeping this place on my list for the future and we'll be back here again. Beautiful villa ( as we both love architecture ), amazing details - very artistic experience ! + calm location, park in the front of the building, easy to get anywhere and friendly, helpful staff ! Great :-) Wishing all the best in the future ! Mirin & Lurien
  • 89%
  • 23 Dec 2015 Lourdes Canada
  • is across a national parkl for a good sunny day .
  • 60%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Welcome Home! You really can feel like home in this hostel. Will definitly return!
  • 91%
  • 13 Dec 2015 Silvia Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »