See other Mexico City properties

Hostel Cathedral

Republica de Guatemala No 4, Colonia Centro,, Mexico City, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 87% from 23 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great facilities in a great location! The bar on the roof is really fun!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A very commerically run Hostel. Rooftop terrace is nice but other common areas and not great, kitchen was pretty limited and abused. Breakfast was great though.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments. They help us to get better, please come back any time. Safe travels

  • 74%
  • 15 Feb 2014 sean Canada
  • I have stayed at this hostel 3 times now and keeps getting better. The location is at the perfect spot in Zocalo (main square downtown) and it is safe at any time. The 3 times I have been in a 6 persons mix dorm; rooms are nice and clean with a bathroom inside. Now they serve good breakfast that consists of eggs, beans, fruit, coffee and tea (included) at the roof terrace with an amazing view of the cathedral. During the night, the terrace turns into a bar where you can meet other guests.
    Owner Comment

    YEAH¡¡¡¡ We are glad that you have fun this us... Please come back any time. Safe travels

  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Eddy Mexico
  • Great hostel in great location! Close to everything and staff was really great in being helpful about everything you need. Breakfast was really good and balcony has a great view. Great to meet other travelers and have a couple drinks too. Everything was clean and maintained. Beds were pretty comfortable. I've stayed here on 3 different occasions and would stay again.
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • PROS: amazing location, amazing terrace, good price for the location, comfortable bed (was in a private 2 single room), nice sandwich at the downstairs restaurant. CONS: had to be moved to other room due to terrible smoke smell, very loud due to room facing the interior patio (though the noise definitely goes way down at 11, it picks up early again), not very clean, pretty beat up breakfast (went to 4 other hostels and all were WAY better). Note: i am a mom traveling with her 9-year old daughter
  • 71%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel's rooms are arranged around an inner courtyard/atrium: there is an echo effect when someone was talking in the hall way on the first floor you could hear it loud and clear all the way up on the 4th floor. That makes a quiet night of restulness almost impossible. It's always noisy. Bathroom is not the cleanest either buyt tolerable.
  • 66%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nice with a simple breakfast and access to the amazing bar on the terrace with view over zócalo! The Wi-fi was not reliable at all.
  • 80%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • Pros: Excellent location (close to sights and metro), friendly & helpful staff, in-hostel restaurant and plenty of planned activities Cons: Mens washroom consistently smelled terrible, wi-fi was very inconsistent and the lockers don't well with regular sized locks (you can buy a new smaller lock at the hostel).
  • 86%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Edward Canada
  • Fantastic and central location with a great rooftop bar that's conducive to making new friends. Had an amazing time there and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I felt very safe in the hostel and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast is a little lackluster, especially around half an hour before it ends. Lockers, reading lights, and outlets for every bed in dorms which is convenient. All in all, a great place to stay and to make many new friends.
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • a lot of noise that i hardly could get some sleep because rules were not respected, there were some cockroaches in the place and is the first hostel where I had to pick up my sheets wich really bother me. i hope this hostel improve this aspects in order to provide a best service.
  • 57%
  • 08 Nov 2013 carmelo Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »