See other Rome properties

Hostel Des Artistes

Via Villafranca 20, 00185, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 77% from 13 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place, 4-5 minutes on foot to the nearest metro. Good friendly staff. We lived in a budget room with shared bathroom. The room itself was clean and nice, when the bathroom got very messy after several people. We would recommend a housekeeper to check it more often. Free wi fi was available in a special room on the fifth floor, if you want it in your room, you have to pay additional amount of money (2 euro, if we are not mistaken). In general it is a nice place and is worth it's money.
  • 89%
  • 20 Nov 2015 Anonymous Ukraine
  • This was the most "luxury" hostel i ever stay, and is way better then most hostels and for 12 euros is a STEAL. I stayed 3 days there and a total of 6 days in Rome for a very low budget (most spend that money on a plane ticket) ...
  • 97%
  • 12 Nov 2015 Anonymous Romania
  • Bedrooms are not very sound proof; Wifi should be free in this time. 2 euro per day is to much - there´s free wifi on 5th floor - but very very slow (usually either could not connect) ; helpful staff; Close to Rome Termini
  • 77%
  • 12 Nov 2015 Kateřina Czech Republic
  • Not sure where the fine print is.but after booking with this hostel through your company.I was told at checkin that I was to old.Which turn had to move me to another hostel.Must the time in BIG PRINT should say no one 56 years old can stay here.
  • 60%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Ron Canada
  • AC awesome in summer, wifi decent but only in the roof, just go there. staff ok, loaction: it's near roma termini, but not to the way of the colloseum, panteon or vatican, it's the other way, it's not that far and you can take the 429 outside the hostel that levas you very well located in storical centre, pizza 2 blocks away in pizza del secuolo or somethig like that.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • Surprisingly clean and nice for a hostel. The facilitices were surprisingly clean and there were plenty of showers on each floor. We enjoyed very much the rooftop terrace and the free wifi on the fifth floor. The breakfast we didn't try this time. I will likely recommend this hostel to others.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Lovisa Sweden
  • Wifi should be free in this time. 2 euro per day is to much. This is also the first ever visited hostel where the breakfest is not included. But I have to say, for a hostel it is a very rich breakfest. It is werth the price. There is a communital kichen with a microwave, but no plates, cuttlery or cups. Also no refridgirator to store stuff in. This is a must in a hostel where the breakfest is not included. It looks like a hotel. Nice rooms, single beds etc. But a more cosy room should be nic
  • 80%
  • 22 May 2015 Klaas-Walter Netherlands
  • Excellent location, very close to the train station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a private dorm and expected less, but the room was very spacey, clean, own sink and free wifi on 5th floor. Very nice atmosphere and the breakfast for 8 EUR was good as well.
  • 86%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Sascha Germany
  • Its clean and safe (thought no personal safe at the room we we're staying in.) but the place is like an old abandoned hotel and is spread out across multiple buildings. No social gathering place - but you could just hang out at the Yellow Hostel which is right around the corner and has an awesome atmosphere. overall you have better priced places right around the corner - i'd only come here if other options are totally booked up or you want too have peace and quiet and a premium bed/bath.
  • 74%
  • 06 Dec 2014 jacob
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »