See other Stockholm properties

Hostel Gamla Stan

Skeppsbron 22, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 78% from 13 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice atmosphere and nice employees that made the stay comfortable. Location is great and it was a joy to walk around in the area near the hostel.
  • 86%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Dorte Skaarup Denmark
  • very nice hostel in the Old Town of Stockholm
  • 89%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Matteo Italy
  • Great location. Basic needs catered for. Clean bed, shower that worked, plenty of hot water. Great to have breakfast provided and free tea and coffee anytime. Helpful staff.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Frances Australia
  • Pros: The location in Gamla Stan is good. I was lucky to get upgraded from a musty 14-bed dorm to a well-ventilated 6-bed dorm (only because they had given away my bed in the other dorm). The staff were nice about letting me get breakfast early, and there's wifi throughout the hostel. Cons: there's no atmosphere to speak of. It's definitely more like a hotel than a hostel. The showers were pretty dirty.
  • 69%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a good value for the money. Staff was nice, and reception is always open. The place feels and smells a little old, and rooms get very hot without AC, and the wifi is pretty poor. If you plan on hanging out in Gamla Stan, it is a great location
  • 77%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • BED BUGS!!!!
  • 51%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Eddy USA
  • Generally speaking a nice hostel, but money where stolen from the locked room of my companion. One should not leave cash in a ho(s)tel room, but I'd expect nobody should get access to those rooms as there was no cleaning done.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • For the price and location, this was an excellent choice. Staff was very helpful, and the building was kept orderly. It's right in Gamla Stan (the old city), and right on the harbor. Quick walks to public transportation, landmarks, and the more "modern" part of Stockholm. Beautiful historic buildings and right by the palace. We were there around New Years, and there were fireworks right on the water in front of the hostel. An excellent choice.
  • 100%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • simple breakfast provided. our room is not easy to reach from reception as we all got a large luggage, no elevator directly connect to our floor, have to take our luggage to walk pass a narrow corridor and stairs
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »