See other Brussels properties

Hostel Grand Place

Boulevard Emile Jacqmain 99, Brussels, Belgium, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 85% from 43 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location and price were great.There was a bathroom with two showers and a toilet that was shared between all ten people, and it was kept clean and we had no issues with it. They provided sheets and a towel, which were also clean. My only issue was that if you didn't use the lock that they provided at the check-in hostel, the lockers wouldn't lock. I used one that I had on me, and it gave the illusion that it was locked but didn't actually work. So, when you check in, ask for a lock!
  • 77%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Lauren USA
  • The separate check- in is such hassle tho.
  • 80%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Amazing location, steps from the main square. Room I stayed in was a bit small and very hot, tried opening the window which only opened a crack. Everything else was alright.
  • 69%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The best quality of this hostel is the location without a doubt. It's just 1 minute to the famous Grand Place. Actually, that's why I chose this hostel. So, in that sense, this hostel was perfect but there was a little of pitfall. Had to go to another hostel to check in, ended up taking a taxi to get there. The staff was kind when I checked in but the other staff at the Grand Place was not very friendly. In terms of location, no complaints. Shouldn't complain much for 1 night stay in Brussels :)
  • 91%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • you should know the reception and hostel are in the different place, so if you arrive in Brussels in the evening you can give it up. it is horrible that difficult to find where can check in then walk about 20 minutes to find where you can sleep. with the respect of staff, I never since any staff here during 2 days.
  • 74%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Everything was just the way it supposed to be: clean, silent, the location is great. I will definitely go there again.
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2014 George Romania
  • Ok, the location is amazing (honestly, it hardly can be better). I didnt really like the fact that you have to check-in somewhere else (on Boul. Emile Jacquemain). But! It's not too far, and its fairly easy to get the your real hostel. There is no "official" desk. So, if you need any informations, you actually have to go back to the hostel on Boul. Emile Jacquemain. The beds are excellent (you even have a personal light and electricity !!) Finally, the "chilling room" sucks a bit lol
  • 91%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good location! Crowded rooms, but climatisation perfect. Good lockers & bath room. No reception! You have to walk through the city for checking in! The reason they say: It's cheaper for you. Therefore, they installed CCTV in every corner. So, not seeing any staff, but they are watching you! No bar, no alcohol allowed inside neither. Kitchen closes 13-16h -- just in case you want to access your belongings in the kitchen. Loud street in the night, bring your earplugs! Do the free walking tour
  • 80%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • This place was great! Very clean and has a full kitchen set up. The actual bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate. Checkin location is annoying, but I understand why you've done so. We had a great time!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was not really clean, too much dust on the floor, staff was not friendly, check in with another hostel. Bathroom and toilet was big and clean.
  • 66%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Israel Manuel Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »