See other Mexico City properties

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Republica de Guatemala No 4, Colonia Centro,, Mexico City, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 84% from 24 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Enjoyed my time there. The hostel is in a great location and it was easy to get around.
  • 94%
  • 21 Oct 2015 Martha USA
  • The place is awesome, right in the middle of the most important landmarks. It is very safe to go around the place, and the hostel is very good. The hostel bar is quite expensive, but really worth to spend some time there. There were few things that didn't work: wifi, the card keys, and the staff is not very friendly. Specially at reception. if you can ignore that then it is the best place to stay in Mexico City.
  • 86%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Christhian Nicaragua
  • Great location very close to the main square transportation hub, awesome view of the National Palace and several skylines of this sprawling city from the rooftop bar/patio area. Social atmosphere makes planned and impromptu parties on the rooftop something to remember. Rooms and facilities are adequate. My only complaint which is a common one in these reviews is the spotty wifi which toggles between nonexistent to frustratingly slow. They need to improve this ASAP.
  • 83%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Robert USA
  • It was unfortunate that the bar while a good benefit is rowdy every night. My room was right below the bar so you could hear everything, so the 4 nights I spent there were just terrible sleep. Due to the bar, people always come down stairs drunk, and therefore disturb everyone there. On one night, one guest was screaming at the top of his lungs and staff were not exactly quick to shut him up. It is unlikely i will return to this hostel even though i felt it was decent.
  • 74%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • TOO LOUD! Dont stay on the 5th floor even if you want a suite... bar is right above you and people are wayyyy too loud... elevator was broken the 4 days we were there, so since we were on the 5th floor gues what? We went up the stairs... multiple times a day, up 5 flights of stairs
  • 66%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • I finally have working wifi!!! So I'm able to write this review!, it was frustrating trying to book my future travels with no wifi after this hostel stating they had good working internet before I booked. Please fix your wifi!
  • 57%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Benjamin
  • Good hostel. Wi fi was terrible. No English spoken by said in cafe downstairs
  • 89%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great hostel, I felt like staying there for at least tow weeks. Very good if your looking to meet travelers. Very nice and helpful team. Very recommended.
  • 94%
  • 21 May 2015 silvana Argentina
  • Excellent hostel: great location, great bed, great security. The only downside would be there's only one washer/dryer for the whooe building. But overall, excellent!
  • 94%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • The hostel is located centrally with many attractions nearby. The bathrooms were always clean. Wifi works great and the staff is helpful. The most amazing thing is the rooftop patio and bar which has a great view of Zocalo. The bartenders at night were really cool. The breakfast was okay, they had the same food everday. The only bad part is that some of my stuff was stolen from the room so please keep everything locked at all times.
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »