See other Cancun properties

Hostel Orquideas

Calle Orquideas 25, Cancun, Mexico, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 88% from 12 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We were pleasantly surprised! Super chilled relaxing atmosphere, the staff we're friendly and everyone was respectful. Great value for money, and very easy to find from the bus station. My only complaint was that our air con was pretty ineffective and bedding was super synthetic so it was a pretty stiflingly hot nights sleep. Regardless, I would definitely stay again.
  • 86%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Miriam Australia
  • I was very happy with Hostel Orquideas. The staff were all really nice and friendly. It felt like everyone at the hostel was a part of one big family. There were two meals a day (breakfast and dinner) which very very delicious. Thank you Antonella, I will definitely be staying at Hostel Orqideas if i return to Cancun.
  • 94%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ethiopia
  • The place was good enough. Cancun's not really my bag, so I wasn't super into the party atmosphere. My only real complaint about the hostel is how hot it was. The WiFi didn't work upstairs, so you'd have to go downstairs into the super warm and crowded lobby area to get a connection. I tired quickly of being sweaty and gross all the time!
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were friendly and the free meals were great. However, don't stay here in summer! We ended up in a room with no air conditioning and only hot water coming out of the shower. Fair to say, we did nothing but sweat profusely the entire time in this hostel. We hardly slept because of the heat and could feel the sweat of hundreds of previous guests seeping up through the mattress. Not the best way to spend a last night in Mexico! Fork out an extra $15 and stay in the hotel down the road!
  • 63%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Rhiannon Australia
  • This was our first hostel experience and it couldn't have been better! Although there are many great things about the hostel including location and value, the staff and atmosphere were certainly the most profound. When I got sick, they went above and beyond to get me to a doctor, translate what was wrong, and ensure I got the medication I needed. Everyone at the hostel was inviting and welcoming, and we thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with the staff and other travelers.
  • 94%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was very happy of having chosen this place over Mundo Joven this time in Cancun... the how is very nice and has a touch of modern. the rooms are spacious, super clean. Best of all, the staff and owners of the hostel are very nice, when I was there, they invited us all in the hostel to have supper and share some experiences and talk... all free! and the breakfast is perhaps the best breakfast I have ever had in a hostel.
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Luis Miguel Colombia
  • The hostel had a nice a atmosphere and the staff was really helpful. The stay also included meals which was nice. I can definitely reccomend this hostel to other travellers.
  • 83%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Helene Norway
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it turned out to be a very pleasant experience. The hostel is clean and the staff are nice and very accommodating. For the price, you get a lot. Internet and breakfast are available as well as clean sheets, towels and access to lockers. The hostel is located within walking distance to the bus station and a couple of convenience stores. There is also the plaza area where there is plenty of food and fun. Highly recommend.
  • 91%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »